What's new

Have you ever actually finished a non-glycerin soap?

I'm beginning to believe it's not possible.
I've been doing this wetshaving thing for almost 2 years (June 2008), and I've never run out of a soap. Creams? Sure. I blew through 2 tubes of Proraso red, 1 green, and a tube of Speick.

BUT...
in my collection:
Tabac
Penhaligon's Blenheim Bouquet
Art of Shaving Sandalwood, Lemon, and Lavender

And they all still look almost NEW. I have been face lathering with mostly soaps for almost 2 years, and I haven't killed ANY of them yet. If I was to switch to ONE soap and use it exclusively, how long would it take to go through it? I mean, it's not like I'm stingy, either- I load the HELL out of my brush, and tend to have enough lather for a few extra passes after my standard 3-and-go in the mornings if I need it.

Yes, it can happen but it all depends on the size of your rotation. It's great to finish a puck and then buy three to replace it!

I'm beginning to believe it's not possible.
I've been doing this wetshaving thing for almost 2 years (June 2008), and I've never run out of a soap. Creams? Sure. I blew through 2 tubes of Proraso red, 1 green, and a tube of Speick.

BUT...
in my collection:
Tabac
Penhaligon's Blenheim Bouquet
Art of Shaving Sandalwood, Lemon, and Lavender

And they all still look almost NEW. I have been face lathering with mostly soaps for almost 2 years, and I haven't killed ANY of them yet. If I was to switch to ONE soap and use it exclusively, how long would it take to go through it? I mean, it's not like I'm stingy, either- I load the HELL out of my brush, and tend to have enough lather for a few extra passes after my standard 3-and-go in the mornings if I need it.

I used a bowl of AOS lavender, shaving with it exclusively every day for 9 months before it was gone. I didn't use anything else during that time. Large soaps like these last a long time.