What's new

Inexpensive items from Italy

I have a friend who is studying (probably not too much) in Italy until May, which means, in addition to living vicariously through his blog, I could suggest that he should pick up something that I can't get easily in the US. My problem is twofold. (1) I am pretty new to this, so I don't really know what it to long for from foreign markets. (Heck, I don't even really know what is to long for from US markets!) (2) I am on a limited budget ... think starving grad student.

Nonetheless, I know there must be something that is definitely worth picking up (but maybe not worth the normal shipping involved) that I should get him to bring back for me. Afterall, I've seen the Europeans and Australians wonder "What is this Aqua Velva" you all speak of. There must be something, and many of you know what it is. I need to know! Please help.

Understand that this is potentially a limited time possiblity for me. I could, at any moment, finish my dissertation and get a job teaching at a school where hardly anyone "studies abroad," and then my chances to live vicariously through former students will dry up. I need this information now, before SWMBO realizes that humanities professors will never earn enough to support any kind of AD!

Request him to locate a source of a boar brush Boreal 976, manufacturor's group buy, any internet site or whatever, the brush which is no longer carried in NA but is alive and doing well, and is in a regular production in Italy.

attachment.php

Last edited:
Hey, thanks for all these suggestions. About how much are we talking about for some of these, and am I sending him to a Roman corner drug store, or some sort of shave shop? I'm assuming that since I asked for inexpensive items, probably a "drug store" sort of place. In the end I'm going to have to pare down my list to a few, I really don't want to impose upon him much, especially with all the luggage restrictions.