What's new

Paddle/loom vs. Hanging strop?

In the Lynn Abrams DVD, he seems to indicate that for regular stropping, you have the choice between a paddle/loom strop and a hanging strop. But I asked around and people said, "Oh no, the paddle is just for using paste on to sharpen up more. For regular shaving, you must use the hanging."

I don't have a lot of bathroom real estate, so the paddle appeals more to me. Is it possible to use a paddle for everyday shaving?

I use a hanging strop for everyday use. I hang it on the door knob to the bathroom so no space is taken. Works for me. I have no experience with paddle strops, sorry. I am sure a member with more experience will offer his advise.

Raf

I'm a newbie to straight razor shaving. Real estate was an important factor for me as well. But after speaking with Tony Miller, he assured me that I'd have no problems doing my daily strop on one of his paddle strops. So far, so good.

You can certainly use a paddle strop for daily use. In fact, with some of my razors I only use a paddle as it is much easier.

Personally, I feel the best paddle strops (without paste - 2 sided, for daily use) are the Thiers Issard strops. Perfect amount of draw, flex, etc - and really made beautifully. I find the Tony Miller paddles more designed for diamond pastes, as they are heavy blocks of wood. The TI is hollowed to provide a very small amount of flex, and does an amazing job, especially with extra hollow ground "singing" razors.

In fact.... i've been meaning to but another one. They are the best paddles (by a wide margin) in my personal opinion.