What's new

'Razor Bumps' on Neck

First off I'm fairly new to DE razor blades - used cartridge razors before. Anyway for my first shaves I've been using a combination of Merkur and Derby blades. Recently I decided to try out a Gillette 7 o'clock 'yellow' blade and the first shave went reasonably well but on the second shave I've been left with some nasty ingrown hairs/razor bumps on my neck. I did my normal 3 Pass shave - 1x WTG 1x XTG 1x ATG - and my prep was the same as before; note I've had no previous irritation.

Would it be safe to assume that it's the Gillette blade that doesn't 'agree' with my skin/style?

I'm new to this but from my limited experience its too harsh blade angle when going down the neck - or maybe in your case a little sharper blade youre not used to - thats cutting the hairs right down and causing the red bumps.

Worse nick I got so far was with a yellow. I now use yellows only in my mild razors (SS) and mild blades (Derby, Merkur) in my more aggressive razors. IP Reds seem to go with any razor. I would suggest sticking with the Derby or Merkur blades for a bit. They're more forgiving of lapses in technique. I think after we start off with a few good shaves we get overconfident. I found most of my "bad" shaves probably occurred in the 2nd or 3rd week when I began trying new razors and blades.

For me i had the ingrown bump/problem on my neck with using derby blades. Now am starting on a sample pack only used the feathers but a sharper blade left me with no irritation on my neck YMMV:thumbup1:

Welcome!

Besides experimenting with blades, pay close attention to your blade angle. Try to keep your wrist locked, and move the razor by moving your arm from the shoulder. It's easy to move your wrist instead, especially on the neck, but this tends to change the blade angle in uncontrolled ways.