What's new

Bowls and Mugs and Scuttles, oh my!

I'm still very new to the whole traditional shaving scene. I'm enjoying it very much, but some things still puzzle me. One of those things is what to generate lather in (presuming you're not using the on-your-face method).

It seems to me there are a number of issues to consider:

1. It should have a width and depth appropriate to stir a brush in for two or three minutes.

2. It should hold heat fairly well.

3. Bonus if it's not super fragile or expensive. Who wants to spend their shaving time babying a piece of equipment?

I have seen many shaving bowls, mugs and scuttles for sale on the internet. Some of them seem to fail the first criteria in that they seem to small to build a proper lather in. No regular coffee-mug-sized item is going to be optimal, no matter if it has a manly boat anchor on the side of it or not. I'm also skeptical of anything that explicitly states that it is sized to hold shaving soap. I don't use shaving soap, I use shaving cream. And besides, that again seems pretty small to me. I have seen scuttles that have fun ways to hold heat, but that also seem to small to do anything but hold a cake of shaving soap.

Perhaps most frustrating of all are the numerous items for sale that do not list any dimensions and do not include a brush in the photo to establish scale.

Right now, I'm using something I saw at Wal-mart: a sub-$3 corelle berry bowl. It's about 5 inches across at the top and about 2 inches deep.

Are there others who generate not-on-your-face lather who would like to weigh in on what equipment they use?

I use a bowl and a mug-just depends on whether I am using cream or soap. what matters is that it works for me- I get the lather and heat that I want and my face is happy. :biggrin1:

Marty

a scuttle is kind of like a double-boiler for shaving cream...a ceramic bowl you fill with how water and a smaller bowl fits on top. At least that's what I THINK a scuttle is.