What's new

disposable straight vs. real straight (Dovo SE vs Dovo Shavette)

Hey all - I'm just getting started with SE shaving would really appreciate some help. I have a Dovo straight that a friend gave me (after getting frustrated with straight shaving) and a Dovo Shavette. I've been using the Shavette for a week or two now (while the real Dovo was away getting professionally honed), and I'm getting pretty good with it - but of course slow and still learning. I was all excited when I got the real Dovo SE back today, but it just wasnt nearly as sharp, especially after a few strokes. I'm testing sharpness both on body hair and in shaving. And though I'm not 100% confident in my stropping method, I'm pretty confident I'm doing it right, as I got some good instruction from a shop - and after stropping the Dovo SE just doesnt compare to the Shavette, which has been used 3-5 times. FYI I am using a regular Dovo leather strop with the black Dovo sharpening paste. . I would prefer to use the real SE, I like the feel of it more, and I dont mind the stropping, but it seems like it cant be as sharp as the disposables. (FYI, I'm using the Dovo brand little blades with the red holder - I've ordered other disposable blades which are on the way. I've also ordered the green and black Dovo Shavette blade holders and blades to go in them.). It was done by a cutlery shop that I trust.

Is it just that the disposable blades are much sharper and the real SEs cant compete head to head? Does one just have to use a different technique with the SE, and it doesnt need to be as sharp? From some of the answers here the Dovo straight should be as sharp as the Shavette, but I'm not sure how that can be given my experience, or what it is I need to do differently.