What's new

Bleeding Heart-Nope, Bleeding face-Yep!! Please Help!

Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie I guess. I've always shaved with cartridge razors and regular gilette shaving foam or cream and was never real keen on shaving as a result. I've recently been bit by the wet shaving bug and have recently purchased a badger hair brush, straight razor, several different shaving soaps, etc. I've kind of jumped in with both feet.

I haven't received my items yet by the fact that I live in Congo in Africa and UPS doesn't exactly ship here. I'm waiting on some friends to bring my supplies over with them when they come in March.

In the meantime, I've been following everyone's advice on prep and other things that I can until my stuff arrives. However, I still have horrible results. I end up with what appears to be bleeding pores. They don't really seem like nicks. It just looks like my pores start bleeding and then my face burns for like an hour after I shave. I'll post my routine below so some of you can offer advice on prep that can help me. Is it just using a bad razor what is it?

Supplies:

Mach3
Tabac shaving stick
synthetic shaving brush
Nivea aftershave balm

Here's my routine:

1) Hot shower
2) Follow Kyle's Prep routine of a massaging pre-lather with a hot towel for three minutes.
3) Lather again and make first pass N to S.
4) Lather again and make NW to SE pass in a sort of V shape.
5) Lather again and make E to W pass.
6) Lather again and make a S to N pass.
7) Splash of cold water.
8) Followed with Nivea After-Shave Balm.

This routine leaves me with a smooth face but like I said the burning sensation afterwards is no fun at all. I get a good result but it is not a comfortable shave at all.

What am I doing wrong?

It sounds like you have a good routine down.

How does your face feel if you drop the ATG (S to N) pass? It may not be perfectly smooth, but it could help with the bleeding and burning.