What's new

The Soap Opera's Organic Shea Butter & White Tea Shave Cream

I tried this artisan soap store for shaving supplies and found a couple local products. I'm going to take a moment to review the store line shaving cream.

The price for a 4.6 oz tub is $15, which I figure is pretty good for a small, locally produced niche item. The instructions say to lather directly on the face, but I tried it in my Georgetown scuttle today and it lathers up like a charm and can hold a ton of water, so I imagine the tub will last a long time. Plus you get to pick your custom scent for free. Hence, a score of 8.

I gave a 9 for quality. The only reason it did not get a 10 is because you do have to monitor the lather on your face to make sure it doesn't dry out. This could actually be my fault as I'm relatively new to straight razor shaving and haven't quite gotten the hang of whipping up a good lather with a cream yet. The problem isn't insurmountable; just sprinkle a few drops of water into the lather, give a couple brush swirls, and reapply a bit right over what's on your face.

Scent- 10, because it smells like whatever you want, as strong or weak as you want, for free! Literally, check out the website below and see how many they have to offer. Call if you want a custom scent- I went with 2 parts Sage and 1 part Mango and got a great balance of fruity and herbal/earthy. My girlfriend digs it.

Latherability- 10. It literally exploded into perfect lather in my scuttle. Up until now I find that Gentlemen's Best is the best lather for my face (I've not tried the 3 T's yet, keep that in mind), but I think this edges it out. Certainly the best lather I've worked up from a cream yet.