What's new

Changing Blades

Christmas morning I decided to get a shave in. I usually shave at night but got to sleep in. I used VDH, C&E BBB, Fat Boy set on 4, Israeli Personna blade. When I started shaving I felt a little tugging from the blade. Just new to using DE and coming from the world of multiblade disposables and being too cheap to frequently change them, I went through the shave still being used to the tugging feel of a blade in need of changing. When you guys start to shave and feel the tug from a blade that's done, do you stop shaving and change the blade or do you have one last shave with it?

I'm new to the world of wet shaving but my thoughts are, the blades are so cheap, why risk a serious case of razor burn to save a few cents.

I ditch them after 3 or 4 shaves. They're too cheap to keep around for a crappy shave. Change the blade and get a good, smooth, comfortable shave.

I'd change as soon as I felt tugging, even if it's in the middle of a shave. One bad shave can lead to several subsequent bad shaves.

I have noticed two times when there is tugging: the first shave with a new blade and tugging around shave number 3. If it's a brand new blade there may be burrs on it or something. On Gillette 7 o'clock yellows, the first shave is always rough. Shaves 2,3, and sometimes 4 feel great. Today was shave 2 on a Gillette yellow with a 4 day beard. The first pass took off about 50% of the whiskers. Pass 2 (atg) took off close to 95% of the whiskers with pass 3 (xtg) removing the rest leaving me with a smooth, DFS weeper free and zero irritation. Now if I was on shave number 3+ with tugging, I'd probably go ahead and switch it out. Since the blades I use most are cheap (Shark SC), I can afford to go 2 and out on them giving me a shave at $0.08.

Also, some tugging could be due to a sub-par lather. It happens.

I definitely change them if there is tugging, but I chuck them after 3 shaves anyway so it usually doesn't get to that point.