What's new

Photo assistance respectfully requested

I feel that I am losing resolution in my pictures when I upload them to the site. They look sharp and clear on my computer, but when I upload them to my albums, they seem to be much less so. I am not experienced enough to know whether or not there is more than one way to do this, so I am reaching out to you guys for help. I see the high quality of so many of your photographs, so I know it can be done.

I originally thought that upgrading from my old 5.0 mp Cannon PowerShot to a new Nikon 12.3 mp D5000 would take care of it, but it seems there its more to it than that. I am using the Nikon Software and/or the Microsoft software to download from my camera to the computer. Could that be where the problem lies?

I am attaching a few examples of pics that look good at home, but don't quite cut it here. Your assistance and advice is greatly appreciated.

picture.php

picture.php

Both of these really pop from the screen on my home computer, but on line, they look ordinary at best.

Thank you again for your indulgence.

not an expert, but aren't the super high quality pics uploaded to something like postimage or google images & just pointed to?

not an expert, but aren't the super high quality pics uploaded to something like postimage or google images & just pointed to?

I would very much like to know if that is what is going on -- it would make me feel much less ineffective. I don't have a subscription to a service like that, but perhaps it is the next step I need to take.

Thanks.

I would very much like to know if that is what is going on -- it would make me feel much less ineffective. I don't have a subscription to a service like that, but perhaps it is the next step I need to take.

Thanks.

Easiest way to check would be to find a post that has a good hq photo and hit the 'post reply' if you see the [i m g] site [/ i m g] tag, at least you have an idea.