What's new

Leather Strop vs Hard Balsa Strop

Which one makes a better strop for an absolute beginner. I just purchased my first straight and now I need a strop. I can get the ruprazor leather for $20 or a hard balsa strop for $16. Funds are tight, is there a valid reason to get one instead of the other, especially for a beginner?

Tony Miller

Speaking of horse butts…
For everyday use, even just to start go with Ken's Filly. The balsa strops are specifically for use with abrasive pastes to sharpen and the back of Ken's strop should come pasted.....it's like getting two for one.

For regular daily use you want just leather.

Tony

I don't think that a balsa strop would be a good choice for a daily strop, I'd go with a hanging leather stop

I know which balsa strop your talking about. Those are for touch ups with crox (done only when the blade gets a little dull). Also, unless your short on cash and time, you may want to reconsider balsa as a medium for chromium oxide. It does not work the same as a stone. There is a reason crox users prefer linen/cotton/hard felt as a medium for their pastes.

That said, a piece of balsa and crox is pretty darn cheap and very appealing at the price point. I think it comes out to less than $5 to make it yourself. Crox being the most expensive piece of that equation.

Yup, just make one yourself. Very simple project. The Filly comes prepasted on the back with CrOx also.

For an absolute beginner, the leather strop is really the most sensible choice for you. Without a leather strop, it would be very difficult, not impossible, for you to maintain your razor between shaves.

That said, there is a need for something else to re-juvinate the edge, when the strop just doesn't do it. That is usually where a barbers hone or diamond spray or crox comes in. I have personally found the diamond spray best if used on hard felt, and the crox best if used on hard balsa.