What's new

Use 2 hands?

So I read in the straight shaving tutorial that you should use both hands when straight shaving, and this worried me. Is it best to use 2 hands? Do most people straight shave with both? Will it be okay to only use my right hand, or as a newbie to straights should I just start out with 1 hand?

Thanks,

J.

I'm pretty new to str8s myself, and so far have only used my dominant (right) hand. It hasn't caused me any problems yet, so I'm not sure why it's suggested using two. I'm sure others with more experience will give reasons for using both hands.

I'm pretty new to str8s myself, and so far have only used my dominant (right) hand. It hasn't caused me any problems yet, so I'm not sure why it's suggested using two. I'm sure others with more experience will give reasons for using both hands.

Good to know, thanks. I think I will defintately just use my dominant hand for starting out. I just don't trust ole lefty with too much, especially with a blade that could slice something off...

J.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
I started a few weeks ago, and was daunted by the "both hands" thing.
But, oddly what I found was that shaving with a straight was such an unusual and unlearned skill that even shaving with my dominant hand, I had problems.
It occurred to me right then, that If I had to learn how to do it with my right hand, how hard could it be to also learn to do it with my left.
I surprisingly had no more trouble with my left than I did with my right.
As your motor skills develop with the new patterns and angles, it's truly just as easy to learn with the non dominant hand as with the dominant one.
Just my perspective.