What's new

lighting equipment advice

I'm looking to get a new flash for my camera. I've been using my Dad's old speedlite on-camera for the last several months. Now that he's reclaimed it (I could've sworn he forgot about it :tongue_sm) I'd like to get a flash and some additional gear to use for off-camera lighting. (BTW, I'm using the Canon Rebel XTi)

Right now I'm concentrating on a primary flash. Normally, I would just stick with something in my camera body's brand line, but I want to keep my options open with this.

I'm looking at three models right now: Vivitar 285 HV, the sigma EF-530 DG Super, and also the Canon 430EXII Speedlite.

The last two are priced $219 and $250 (sale until 1/16) respectively. With the sale, I might be able to justify spending the extra $31 on the speedlite, but from what I can tell by looking at the features, it sounds like you get more for the money with the Sigma. Now, whether or not the Sigma can actually work with the TTL metering of the XTi is unknown to me... so between these two, the choice really comes down to: do I want to spend a little more for possibly less value to avoid the possibility of problems using a third party flash? They both support E-TTL as well, but this is moot because my camera doesn't support it.

Then there's the Vivitar. I'm leaning heavily toward this one, the least expensive of the bunch ($90). It's all manual, so I'd have to know a little more about lighting than I do now... which is fine because I'd have to learn to set it manually anyways, if I want to be using it off-camera. Being my first, I'd like to start out with something basic and hone those skills before getting something more extravagant...

So, does anybody have any experience with any of these flashes, or any other suggestions for things I might look at?

I swear by Sigma, I have the EF-530 DG ST at the moment, but I am looking to upgrade to the Super very soon.