What's new

Vulfix 404 Grosvenor Mixed Boar and Badger

Anyone ever tried this brush or a mixed boar/badger brush? I'm a relative newbie and I've been using my Dad's old boar bristle. It's fine but I'm interested in adding another but I'm afraid of spending the $$ on upper end badger brushes.

This is a pretty affordable brush - definitely not "high end" by any stretch.

I think I paid about $10 or $15 for mine a couple of years ago.

Not a bad brush for the money.

I haven't tried this particular brush, but I do have a mixed #21047 Omega and I like it a lot. It has the best of both worlds. The nice solid backbone and soft tips of a good boar brush, but with the water holding capacity of badger. If you're looking for something different for not a lot of money, then I would definitely buy a mixed brush.

Now get off the fence and buy that Vulfix 404! :biggrin:

It's got a lovely faux ivory handle that belies it's price, available from Diamond Edge Ltd in the UK.

When you're looking to upgrade again just replace with a GN knot and voila a high end brush for 1/4 of the price.

Many thanks for the thoughts. I think I'll go ahead and order it. What's a GN knot?

Many thanks for the thoughts. I think I'll go ahead and order it. What's a GN knot?

A knot from the the Golden Nib, as seen here. They're pretty darn good and are great way to get a quality badger brush for cheap, assuming you have a handle to knot.

This is probably one of my least favorite brushes. I would choose an omega boar or any badger brush over this one. While being well made, it just isn't very dense. It is only ~$15 so if you don't like it, it is not a huge investment.

This is probably one of my least favorite brushes. I would choose an omega boar or any badger brush over this one. While being well made, it just isn't very dense. It is only ~$15 so if you don't like it, it is not a huge investment.