What's new

Your Earl Grey brewing tips

I haven't had a cup of Earl Grey in a long time. I bought a box of Tazo while running errands just to see if I want to get serious about it. I figure the directions on the box are useless - what are your favorite brewing methods?

3g of tea per "cup" (those are small, by the way. Something around 4-6oz, depending on who you ask).

Boiling water.

5 minute steep time (less if it's cut black tea)

Tazo is not quite the McDonald's of tea, but it's nothing to write home about either.

disclaimer: I am a coffee guy first who has studied up a bit on tea out of necessity. I am by no means a tea expert, so I apologize in advance if someone comes behind me to correct bad advice.

I haven't had a bad cup of earl grey. Twinnings is readily available here, I just heat the water, steep the bag for 3 to 5 minutes and enjoy. The funny thing is that I didn't know about the tea until I saw the Star Trek Generations movie. Piccard was in a fantasy world with his wife and children and she offered a "cup of earl grey?' I thought she said "old grey" and tried to find out what the heck they were talking about. I figured it out and have been in love with it ever since.

I have had Twinings and other brands.

My favorite Earl Grey, by far, is Stash. I too am a coffee drinker who discovered Earl Grey via Jean Luc Picard.

I do nothing fancy, a simple 5 minute steep with a teabag.