Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 50
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662

    Default Just won this on eBay

    Thoughts??

    http://gallery.me.com/iphone/krisandlynde/100023#0

    is this a good Fili? Anybody got one?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Blacksburg, VA
    Posts
    1,568
    Images
    29

    Default

    I have heard that Palmera is just about there with Filarmonica in terms of shaveability.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mainaman View Post
    I have heard that Palmera is just about there with Filarmonica in terms of shaveability.
    What is a Palmera?

  4. #4

    Default

    that's a weird one - a filarmonica box and scales and an unknown blade.
    try it and you'll know.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Just added 2 pics of the blade up closer. I think it is a Fili doble temple

  6. #6

    Default Keep seeing these on eBay

    I'd also love to hear what you think of this blade after you get a chance to shave with it. That's what counts, in my view anyway.

    By the way, I have seen these, week in and week out, on eBay -- all from the same seller -- and the thing I keep noticing is that everyone else's Filarmonicas have the name "Filarmonica" and the model number stamped somewhere on the tang, but these razors don't.

    Now there's probably some Filarmonica expert on this site with the background to explain what's behind these blades, but I've been wondering about them every time I see one. I even asked the seller about them, and he said they were true Filarmonica "NOS" razors, and I don't have any reason to doubt him. I just wanted to know if they were a decent shave worthy of the brand name!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Gracious Now I am getting worried. Anyone have one? Anyone know anything about these?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,681

    Default

    Huh.....it kind of does look like what a fake would look like if a fake were being made in China....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    The Emerald City
    Posts
    1,162
    Images
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by leighton View Post
    Huh.....it kind of does look like what a fake would look like if a fake were being made in China....
    I hate to say it, but I think he's right...

    Here's a thread with a real one:
    http://www.straightrazorplace.com/fo...lo-de-oro.html
    http://badgerandblade.com/vb/group.php?groupid=81 - Washington State Wetshavers - because we're all wet here anyway.
    http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/index.php/User:R0ckrat

  10. #10

    Default

    I've never seen a Filly that didn't have a stamp on the Tang.

    The tang should read "Filarmonica" and have a 13 stamped on it.

    Also, the blade has a smile to it and its showing some hone wear.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662
    Thread Starter

    Default

    I guess I will have to wait till it comes in. If it is indeed a phony, I paid through paypal. Will paypal not protect me from fraud? Anyone ever had any experience with this sort of thing?

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by krisbarger View Post
    I guess I will have to wait till it comes in. If it is indeed a phony, I paid through paypal. Will paypal not protect me from fraud? Anyone ever had any experience with this sort of thing?
    I believe you'll be protected through paypal.

    Post your pictures on straightrazorplace.com because some of those guys are total experts on Fillys and they'll be able to tell you right away if its real.

    I can't be sure that Filly never manufactured a DT without a stamp on the tang, but those guys would know.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,681

    Default





    TOO CLOSE FOR COMFORT.

    Kris, I really really hope that the Chinese have not started pumping out fake Fillys. I really do, but after someone pointed out that it might be fake, the thought has just kept gnawing at the back of my head.
    Last edited by leighton; 11-19-2009 at 03:54 PM.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Those look nothing alike.
    Leighton stop stirring the pot

    Where was the seller located, and what was his/her feedback like?
    [URL="http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/index.php/User:Gumbo"]My Shave Wiki!!![/URL]

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,681

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gumbo View Post
    Those look nothing alike.
    Leighton stop stirring the pot

    Where was the seller located, and what was his/her feedback like?


    If I didn't stir the pot, the thread wouldn't be interesting anymore.

    Anyway, pulled out my Filly 13 and it looks similar. Except its stamped with Filarmonica, 13, J. Monserat..., made in spain, etc. No gold wash and no smile either.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gumbo View Post
    Those look nothing alike.
    Leighton stop stirring the pot

    Where was the seller located, and what was his/her feedback like?
    Seller info
    mariona08 ( 341)
    98.7% Positive feedback
    Item location: Sant Andreu de Llavaneres, Cataluņa, Spain

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Max from SRP sent me this after I inquired of him what he thought.

    "I have seen those before but my only concern I had was about the tang inscription which I haven't seen on your picture. That made me wonder but I've handled razors from very known vintage brands that also didn't have a tang inscription but shaved and were identical to the real thing. So it's hard to tell."

    So I guess the jury is still out on this until it comes in???? Although I would not be able to tell anyway. I may have to have someone look at it for me.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    'Las Vegas - NV' Home of UFC
    Posts
    693
    Images
    13

    Default

    Kris,

    I just noticed that the same seller 'mariona08' has 2 the same Filis listed just like yours. Looking at the close up pics she has showing it doesn't look like a Chinese knock off. Both razors already have 7 bids so you're not the only one.

    It is indeed a mystery.

    Like Gugi said earlier, the shave will tell the truth.
    Max

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,681

    Default

    Just looked at the seller's pics. Does not look like a fake to me either. The 2nd one for sale looks like a second (gold wash is certainly messed up). Maybe this guy has got some seconds that weren't good enough for the stamp?

    And looking at the listings that have ended within the last 15 days of his... He's got at least two that have stamps, the rest don't seem to have stamps. Mystery! However, the seconds theory seems to gain some weight after looking at them, in my mind. Something seems to be slightly off about the gold wash in each of the ones without a stamp. Not sure if this works, but if it doesn't just do an advanced search by seller, then do a completed listings search.

    http://completed.shop.ebay.com/mario...lete=1&guest=1
    Last edited by leighton; 11-19-2009 at 10:07 PM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bremen, GA
    Posts
    662
    Thread Starter

    Default

    Soooo Maybe the one I bought is just a little off cosmetically and it really will be a good shaver made out of the same good steel and I will have no worries. Sound right. Pray saints pray. LOL

    Quote Originally Posted by leighton View Post
    Just looked at the seller's pics. Does not look like a fake to me either. The 2nd one for sale looks like a second (gold wash is certainly messed up). Maybe this guy has got some seconds that weren't good enough for the stamp?

    And looking at the listings that have ended within the last 15 days of his... He's got at least two that have stamps, the rest don't seem to have stamps. Mystery! However, the seconds theory seems to gain some weight after looking at them, in my mind. Something seems to be slightly off about the gold wash in each of the ones without a stamp. Not sure if this works, but if it doesn't just do an advanced search by seller, then do a completed listings search.

    http://completed.shop.ebay.com/mario...lete=1&guest=1

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. eBay..
    By Blue Raccoon in forum The Barber Shop
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-08-2011, 03:04 PM
  2. ebay help
    By purethrive in forum General Shaving Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-08-2011, 09:08 PM
  3. German ebay bidder sought for razors on eBay Germany
    By johnmrson in forum Shopping and deals
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-07-2011, 03:10 PM
  4. ebay win
    By danparker77 in forum General Shaving Discussion
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-23-2010, 12:32 PM
  5. Just won on ebay
    By henchmen77 in forum General Shaving Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-31-2008, 06:04 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •