Thoughts??
http://gallery.me.com/iphone/krisandlynde/100023#0
is this a good Fili? Anybody got one?
Thoughts??
http://gallery.me.com/iphone/krisandlynde/100023#0
is this a good Fili? Anybody got one?
Looking for Trumpers tallow soaps. Looking for Pens BB or EF tallow soap!
I have heard that Palmera is just about there with Filarmonica in terms of shaveability.
that's a weird one - a filarmonica box and scales and an unknown blade.
try it and you'll know.
Just added 2 pics of the blade up closer. I think it is a Fili doble temple
Looking for Trumpers tallow soaps. Looking for Pens BB or EF tallow soap!
I'd also love to hear what you think of this blade after you get a chance to shave with it. That's what counts, in my view anyway.
By the way, I have seen these, week in and week out, on eBay -- all from the same seller -- and the thing I keep noticing is that everyone else's Filarmonicas have the name "Filarmonica" and the model number stamped somewhere on the tang, but these razors don't.
Now there's probably some Filarmonica expert on this site with the background to explain what's behind these blades, but I've been wondering about them every time I see one. I even asked the seller about them, and he said they were true Filarmonica "NOS" razors, and I don't have any reason to doubt him. I just wanted to know if they were a decent shave worthy of the brand name!
Gracious Now I am getting worried. Anyone have one? Anyone know anything about these?
Looking for Trumpers tallow soaps. Looking for Pens BB or EF tallow soap!
Huh.....it kind of does look like what a fake would look like if a fake were being made in China....
I hate to say it, but I think he's right...
Here's a thread with a real one:
http://www.straightrazorplace.com/fo...lo-de-oro.html
http://badgerandblade.com/vb/group.php?groupid=81 - Washington State Wetshavers - because we're all wet here anyway.
http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/index.php/User:R0ckrat
I've never seen a Filly that didn't have a stamp on the Tang.
The tang should read "Filarmonica" and have a 13 stamped on it.
Also, the blade has a smile to it and its showing some hone wear.
I guess I will have to wait till it comes in. If it is indeed a phony, I paid through paypal. Will paypal not protect me from fraud? Anyone ever had any experience with this sort of thing?
Looking for Trumpers tallow soaps. Looking for Pens BB or EF tallow soap!
I believe you'll be protected through paypal.
Post your pictures on straightrazorplace.com because some of those guys are total experts on Fillys and they'll be able to tell you right away if its real.
I can't be sure that Filly never manufactured a DT without a stamp on the tang, but those guys would know.
TOO CLOSE FOR COMFORT.
Kris, I really really hope that the Chinese have not started pumping out fake Fillys. I really do, but after someone pointed out that it might be fake, the thought has just kept gnawing at the back of my head.
Last edited by leighton; 11-19-2009 at 03:54 PM.
Those look nothing alike.
Leighton stop stirring the pot
Where was the seller located, and what was his/her feedback like?
[URL="http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/index.php/User:Gumbo"]My Shave Wiki!!![/URL]
Max from SRP sent me this after I inquired of him what he thought.
"I have seen those before but my only concern I had was about the tang inscription which I haven't seen on your picture. That made me wonder but I've handled razors from very known vintage brands that also didn't have a tang inscription but shaved and were identical to the real thing. So it's hard to tell."
So I guess the jury is still out on this until it comes in???? Although I would not be able to tell anyway. I may have to have someone look at it for me.
Looking for Trumpers tallow soaps. Looking for Pens BB or EF tallow soap!
Kris,
I just noticed that the same seller 'mariona08' has 2 the same Filis listed just like yours. Looking at the close up pics she has showing it doesn't look like a Chinese knock off. Both razors already have 7 bids so you're not the only one.
It is indeed a mystery.
Like Gugi said earlier, the shave will tell the truth.
Max
Just looked at the seller's pics. Does not look like a fake to me either. The 2nd one for sale looks like a second (gold wash is certainly messed up). Maybe this guy has got some seconds that weren't good enough for the stamp?
And looking at the listings that have ended within the last 15 days of his... He's got at least two that have stamps, the rest don't seem to have stamps. Mystery! However, the seconds theory seems to gain some weight after looking at them, in my mind. Something seems to be slightly off about the gold wash in each of the ones without a stamp. Not sure if this works, but if it doesn't just do an advanced search by seller, then do a completed listings search.
http://completed.shop.ebay.com/mario...lete=1&guest=1
Last edited by leighton; 11-19-2009 at 10:07 PM.
Bookmarks