What's new

Just getting started.

Hello all. I must say there is a wealth of knowledge on this forum. I am about to get into wet shaving for the first time. I had asked my wife for some products over a year ago and we never moved forward. Then I just found this forum. I have been reading and researching this forum for about a week now.

Past habbits:
Mach 5/3
Gillette Fusion Gel
Aveeno Gel

The reason for the recent need to change: I am a law student and have been interning at a law firm. Since starting work at the firm I shave everyday to keep a clean look. I have started to notice that by 6 in the evening I have noticeable stubble. This was something I never had before I started shaving daily. I need to look clean throughout the day and my current grooming habits aren't cutting it.

So here is my plan:
Ordered:
Soap:
L'Occitane Cade Shave soap with the shiny metal bowl. Ordered it with some of wife and mom's Christmas gifts today.

The following is part of my Christmas list:
One of the following:
Razor:Merkur 38R, 38B, or 34C. I found them all equal, so I will let her choose to surprise me for Christmas.

One of the following:
Omega Professional Boar Shaving Brush

One of the following:
Penworks brand brush 22 or 24mm finest hair
pick one she likes the looks of and stay under $50-want her to feel like she is a part of this, so i can get more stuff here. I e-mailed QED, Charles did not have any selects left.

Plan to purchase on my own:
Latte mug from Target for lathering my soap.

How does this sound to all of you? Also is there anything you would recommend that I am missing? I haven't figured out if I need a stand or if I can just put the brush vertical in a towel in the sink drawer.

Thank you all for the great advice on this forum.

I like most of your choices, and the Penworks brushes are wonderful, beautiful, brushes that are top performers.