What's new

Lesson Learned

Okay, so waiting three days between shaves makes it very difficult for my str8 to even begin to do its job. Got the easy parts of my face on the first three passes, but my chin would not yield. Had to finish with my M3:frown:

I also had a question concerning my strop. One side is smooth and feels like suede and the other is rougher leather. Is the smooth side linen? I'm confused:blush:

I dont use a straight, so I'm not a complete expert.

From what I know about knives and have researched about straights, you begin stropping on the leather side. This will get the majority of the burrs etc out of the blade. You will then switch to the linen side to put more of a "polish" on the edge.

Again, someone correct me if I'm wrong.

I dont use a straight, so I'm not a complete expert.

From what I know about knives and have researched about straights, you begin stropping on the leather side. This will get the majority of the burrs etc out of the blade. You will then switch to the linen side to put more of a "polish" on the edge.

Again, someone correct me if I'm wrong.

You stand corrected. First the linen and then the leather.

The smooth side of the leather is where you want to be stropping.

Leather is NOT linen. Linen is a cloth type fabric.

What type of razor did you get? My advice to you is: shave every OTHER day. Not every three days. It'll make shaving the most comfortable (does for me anyway).

I don't find a difference in shave quality when I shave on consecutive days, or when I take a few days off. There may be a difference in the number of passes I need to get to bbs, but thats about it. Maybe Your shave was more comfortable because your technique is improving.

Let us know what specific model strop you have. It does sound strange. The leather side to a strop should be very smooth feeling - not like suede.