What's new

Alum Block

I was reading a post last night about a kindred soul who was dealing with razor burn and someone mentioned an alum block. I've seen them mentioned before and I (think) I intuitively know what one is and what it's for thought I'd ask to be sure.

How and when do you use one?

Thanks,

B

I use a Alum Bloc after being recommended one by trumpers for razor burn. It seems to bring out the red in my neck, yet only stings when I apply it. I only noticed the redness an hour later when I looked in the mirror. I must also mention that I'm still new to DE shaving, so my technique is far from good.

Now I just lightly rub the Alum bloc over any cuts or weepers.

I've been using witch hazel after I get out of my cold water rinse in the shower. It seems to work pretty well, but I actually just ended up ordering an Alum Block the other day to test it out. I'm still very much a newbie and usually leave with a couple nics and weepers so I'm sure my Alum Block will give me quite a sting, but I've heard it works wonders and my technique is slowly improving.

Yep same here, after shaving rub all over my wet face, leavr for a minite or 2, pat dry and your done, marvellous.

The block is antiseptic and is good for so many other things. I use mine after every shave. Believe it or not once when I was traveling I used it on a cold sore. I had left my prescription med. home, and the alum block worked better than the prescription. I wouldn't be without one, and they'll last a good long time. :thumbup1:

One note - if you plan to followed up with an aftershave after using the alum block it is good to do a post alum rinse, otherwise you can gum up the works.

After I shave, I will;

1. Wash and dry my face
2. Wet my face a little with water from my hands
3. Rub the alum block over the wet bit of my face
4. Pack up all my stuff (usually a couple mins, during which time you will start ot feel the alum doing its thing and your face becoming a little itchy).