What's new

Newbie comment and question

Comment: I'm honestly shocked at how lively this forum is! I had no idea! It's great!

Question: I have purchased a Parker 13R, which is on its way to me. This will be my first real razor. What ought I to expect? I bought it for 2 reasons. One, aesthetics. It looks great in the horn. Second, it is described as being closely modeled on a Merkur, which I took to be a good thing. So, what can I expect with this razor, since I'll have no idea if any poor performance is my own fault (probably), the razor's (is Parker any good?), or both. Are all razors fairly equal? Is it mostly the blade that determines things?

Thanks.

I have no experience with Parkers or Merkurs but I believe they are great razors. I am sure more educated ones will jump in here though.

I like the merkurs.
My favorite razor is a merkur progress.
I also have a slant, my only complant about that one is the head casting seems cheap.

I really like the Merkur's, in fact that's all I use.

My favorite is the 1904 in both straight bar and open comb.

Second favorite is the HD, regular and barberpole, again in both straight bar and open comb.

I use the open comb when I have a 3 day or more growth of beard, and the straight bars for anything less.

So I guess I have 6 razor's that I use, all are Merkur. :w00t: :biggrin: :tongue:

Welcome to B&B. Pull up a stump and sit awhile. Please post lots of questions.... there are lots of experts here who love to answer them and give advice.

I have mostly vintage Gillettes, and a Merkur HD. Love my Gillettes, but the Merkur is one helluva shaver.
Get a blade sampler and work on your lather, (probably the single most important thing, along with SLOW, SLOW, SLOW, Angle, and NO PRESSURE)

Welcome to the boards!