What's new

Art of Shaving Products

This doesn't really belong in shaving creams, aftershaves, or the like, so I thought I'd put it here.

My first batch of materials for wetshaving came from Art of Shaving, and I paid $75 for the big supply of Pre-Shave Oil, Shaving Cream, and Aftershave. They also gave me a brush.

I believe I'll need more shaving cream before I need more of anything else, but it just seems overly expensive and I have a feeling that AoS is just overpricing a lot of stuff (like the Merkur blades they sold me for $12, forgive me, I was a noob).

Anyway, I'm wondering, does anyone else use their stuff, and are you happy with it? Or have you moved on to better things?

The shaving creams and shaving soaps are generally highly regarded. The bulk of the negative attitude towards AOS is in their ridiculously overpriced hardware, and the overall lack of proper knowledge from their sales staff.

AOS sells probably the only versions of Valobra shaving soap in essential oil/non-fragrance oil scents (lavender, lemon and unscented). Those are the only products I get from them.

Roger

The bulk of the negative attitude towards AOS is in their ridiculously overpriced hardware, and the overall lack of proper knowledge from their sales staff.

Yeah the silver $1,000 razor set is absurd... Anyway, I think some of the people in their store need to wear a helmet to function safely. I discovered this after one of the guys explained to me that Merkur blades weren't bad, he uses them all the time. His face was lit up red from the razor burn he had.

AoS soaps and creams are at the higher-end of the price range; but, most people seem to think the soaps and creams are higher-end products, so the prices--if high--are at least reasonable for the quality you get. I fall in that camp.