What's new

First Straight Shave, with Pictures

Some background on me: I have been shaving with my grandfather's DE Gillette for almost seven years now. I used low-quality CVS blades until a year ago when I found B&B. Now I use Kai blades exclusively, and I spend 20 minutes on a shave. I prep by taking a shower, holding a hot towel over my face for a minute, and finally rubbing witch hazel on it. I use Proraso and either use straight witch hazel or C O Bigelow #1200 for aftershave. My beard is thick and grows fast so I shave almost every day. I am happy with the results I get from DE shaving, but I would love to get the same quality of shave without having to buy new blades all the time.

I purchased a shave-ready straight from another member on the board, acquired an old strop from my barber (but I did not strop this first time) and gave it a go today. I did not shave yesterday. I spent about 45 minutes shaving. I started on the sides, and it was smooth and easy. I thought, "Hey, there's nothing to this!" Then I got to the moustache, chin and under-lip areas. I did about six passes on my chin and neck area and there was still a lot of hair left. I had a fair number of cuts in that area, and felt a bit of burn, so I decided to give up for the day. Here are the results.

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

Honestly, it was better than I thought, no major cuts. I assume I will get better with time, but please feel free to give me any advice you might have. Thanks.

youre doing well!

try to avoid 6 passes though and concentrate on your angles and (no) pressure

I tried not to use much pressure at first, although I probably used more than I should have on the later passes, due to frustration. I kept the blade around 30 degrees, I would say, on my chin. Does that angle sound about right?

30 is a nice guide, sure. If in doubt of your angle, always err on the side of getting the spine closer to your skin.