What's new

Parker SRW Straight?

Hi guys,

I've been browsing eBay and came across this item. Basically it looks like a Parker shavette of some sort. Has anyone here had any experience with these? Are they worthwhile for a persone keen to learn to straight shave but who's saving up for the real deal?

Thanks

I've never shaved with a shavette but from what I've heard they are less forgiving than a regular straight razor. If I were you, I'd probably just put the money toward a real straight. If you go vintage you should be able to get a shave ready razor for a decent price.

Thanks Kent, that's where I've started leaning too since I first posted this thread. I've got a few straights in mind, but just need to save my pennies to get the razor and strop...they are very pricey as I'm in Australia and straight shaving seems to be a distant memory here!

I have no knowledge of them either, but noticed this same package is offered on Amazon at around the same price. They also list a "Parker SR2" from the same manufacturer that has a metal handle, but is cheaper since it is only packaged with a few blades.

dont bother.

i know some guys like shavettes but I dont. Theyre not at all like using a real one, and you'll end up selling it. Just save a little more and get a proper one

I have one made by Sanguine that looks very similar to this, and I use it quite a bit. Check out some of PZBarber's threads and posts; he gives barbershop shaves with them, using the half-blades made by Derby. I think of it as a middle ground between a real straight and a DE. I can't speak for the Shark blades, as I have only used Derbys and IPs.

I ordered 2 a while ago. I will do a review when they come. I found a local store which is also carrying them if anyone in vancouver wants one

Oh really? I thought they were metal...I should have posted earlier...just got back from Vancouver! I'm looking forward to your review...