What's new

My 6 month checkup (with questions)

So I've been using my Merkur HD for about six months now almost exclusively. I must confess that for the first 3, I used my Mach 3 to touch up problem areas such my chin. I'm still using it to touch up the mustache area, but I'm starting to phase that out thanks to Mantic59's video on moving my nose out of the way.

My journey in trying to find a blade that works for me is chronicled over in the razor blade forum, so now I'm convinced what's left is to fix my technique. Can you gentlemen give me some advice on shaving the chin? I don't have a cleft, but I'd love any advice you guys have on how to get the proper angle around the curve from the bottom to the front.

One other thing that's been bothering me is that I am having to go from my north-south pass directly to a south-north on my neck. If I try an XTC east-west, I end up scratching the crap out of my neck and leaving weepers. It hurts.

Along with the Merkur HD and my Evelyn & Crabtree Best Badger brush, I've been using TOBS St. James cream. I've also been using Kiss My Face unscented, but I'm going to retire it when it runs out. It just doesn't offer enough protection. I have Proraso and Nancy Boy creams that showed up on Friday, but I haven't had a chance to try them yet. I settled on the Swedish Gillette blades after trying a bunch. The Feathers were too aggressive for me, but they weren't the nightmare that the Israeli Crystals were. I wouldn't wish those on anyone. After the shave, I'm using witch hazel and Nivea balm for sensitive skin.

A huge thanks to B&B and Mantic59 for showing me the way. I used to dread shaving in the morning and had a painful or itchy neck most days. I actually look forward to shaving now.