What's new

New (old) guy says howdy

Well after two weeks of lurking and entering week 3 of wet DE shaving, thought that I'd finally expose myself. :tongue:

Born when there was that nasty little police action going on in Korea, started self taught method of shaving (nick in my nostril to prove it :eek:)
with my dad's adjustable Gillette in the mid 60s. No I don't remember the model and no he didn't appreciate me borrowing his razor.

First forward to the now, disgruntled M3 user. My buddy gave me a puck of Williams soap, I perused Amazon and (before discovering this font of shaving wisdom here at B&B), ordered a Parker 22R w/10 pack of Shark Chrome blades and a Tweezerman badger brush. I dug a thirty year old wide mouth coffee mug out of the kitchen cabinet to use as a soap mug and proceeded to make all the usual newb mistakes until my enlightenment here at this site :001_rolle .

I've watched several of what's his names' videos and along with what I've read, have learned to improve technique to the point that nicks and weepers are hopefully over. I got a puck of Conk Bay Rum soap and prefer it obviously to the Williams and also have VDH Select to try maybe. After several shaves with Sharks, tried my first Merkur HD today, eh, don't know yet whether better or not.

I find the Parker a little heavy (or at least how it's balanced) and though it's purty and TTO, don't think I'll stay with it. My hand cramps before I'm finished shaving, maybe it's grip but I keep chanting, "No Pressure" to keep the gods of blood away. Muhle and Edwin Jagger impress me visually, how do they shave for light beard and sensitive skin?

A slightly larger (And better) badger brush might be nice, suggestions?. But please, let$ be reasonable. How about Tabac soap?, seems to be a winnah for most folks.

This went w-a-y longer then intended, so I'll get out of here for now. Thanks for being here, been a great help so far.