What's new

Fighting a shadow

I'm a new guy checking in for the first time. After a few months of reading and research, I finally feel like I'm really learning how to shave and I wanted to extend my thanks to all the expert advice that I've seen. When I first started shaving I started with a multi-blade razor and since I had no clue what I was doing I was constantly fighting all kinds of skin issues. So I switched to an electric razor and for a while it helped but I was never happy with the results. So after 15+ years of struggle I've started on a new path.

I've been shaving for a couple of months with a Merkur 34C using Derby or Personna blades. Working with C.O. Biglow and VDH. My main focus was to get my technique down and then go from there. I've had some DFS and even a couple of BBS since the start. Overall more good than bad shaves.

I do have a question though, even when I'm BBS I still seem to have a shadow. Is this because of the blades or razor that I'm using? Do I need something more aggressive? Or is it just genetics? Don't get me wrong I'm so happy with my results since switching from an electric razor, but I guess I was expecting a little less of a shadow.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Welcome to B&B!

To answer your question, I have a 'lighter' shadow if I get a BBS shave. Does it disappear? No, I always have one. It does feel smooth!