What's new

Shaving Irritation Neck

Hey, Im new to de shaving, for about 4 months. My Neck is the most tender area to shave. Everytime I shave atg I get a huge amount red spots right after. I can only shave with the grain, but that only clears about 5% of hairs (My neck hair grows inward). Im using astra blades, shaving oil, and proper technique. Am I doomed here?

FYI, I tried XTG as well, but that does nothing.

Welcome to B&B!
Doomed? No, but it ain't easy to get the neck shaved without irritation. That's a fact of life for many, many of the members. I don't stop shaving my face due to neck issues, but I do stop shaving my neck, sometimes for two or three shaves while I treat the area and formulate a new plan of attack. When the hair gets long on my neck I use a personal trimmer - available in most drugstores - to reduce the hair down to about day-old stubble length. So far I haven't found a permanent solution but I pay attention to the area and I watch the threads here for hopeful hints.

Oh ok, I find If I dont shave my neck for a few days, the hair basically slides right off, with a great shave, with atg. I thot bout not shaving neck for a few days, just thought that id look like an idiot with clean face and massive neck hair.