What's new

Newbie soap/cream ???

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to wet shaving, about 3 months or so. I've already established a pretty respectable den with the following:

3 Gillette Techs: all late 40's models I believe (no date codes)-1 nickel slim handle, and 1 thick handle nickel, 1 thick handle gold tone

1 1955 flair tip Superspeed
1 1964 Slim Adjustable
1 1960 Fatboy

honorable mention: 1 Parker 86R slim long handle TTO

My wife gave me 2 tins of Pre de Provence shea butter soap, which I like. I have a Vulfix 24mm Badger brush

Blades are samplers from WestCoast, plus Wallyworld Personnas, some old/new stock Wilkinsons, Gillette slims(red box) , and about 100 freakin Shark blades that came with the Parker.

Need some advice on the value of creams over the soap I'm using, or can you incorporate both into the routine?? Is it a noticeable difference? Also, are there other soaps that would be noticeably better than what I have.

I guess I have early RAD more than any noticeable SAD or SCAD at this point. :biggrin: . Gentlemen, looking forward to your wise counsel

P.S. Should I try to post a pic of the den? Is it easy to do? :rolleyes:

Welcome to B&B!

Got a Tech too, good thing!

You can use both soaps and creams in your routine, np.

In general, creams are a bit softer, which makes them easier to lather. Albeit soaps are not difficult to lather...

I do not have experience with Pre de Provence but hopefully other members can help you out.

Have a look also in the review section!

If you want to post a picture of your den that is up to you.
Most members will critique it softly.

To download photos is actually quite easy:
1- Just take a digital photo that you like and want to post
2- Download to your computer and save the file
3- When you post next, use the attach button (paper-clip) It is below the title and above the message you are writing.
4- another window will pop up so you can browse and find your file