What's new

Soap vs. Shave Stick vs. Cream

Veteran Newbie here (I've been at DE shaving since July).

I've learned different things along my way, holding the razor, when to change the blade, mug lathering, etc etc. I have found that face lathering works best for me. It’s the quickest and I build an amazing lather.

I am using creams as opposed to soaps to do this. I think soaps may leave a film or my face too dry. It already is. But the idea of using a shave stick has recently jumped up on my radar. I wanted to know the difference between a shave stick vs. a soap puck vs. cream.

I am sure there may already be a thread out there.

Also what brands make shave sticks? I know TOBS and Speick do. Anyone else out there?

I use shave sticks often. They're easy to use and can get great lather. They are good for traveling as well. They're especially effective if you haven't shaved for a day. Just simply wet your face and rub the stick all over, especially against the grain. Be sure to coat your beard with soap. Then take a damp brush and start face lathering. It works like magic!

I have found that I have better success with a soft badger brush rather than a boar brush, but others may have success with both.

The shave sticks I currently use are Irisch Moos, Arko and Speick. All three are great. I love the Arko stick and you can't beat the price! It's usually at or under $2 a pop. The Speick is terrific as well. Moos is harder to come by for sure and is more expensive. One thing for certain, all shave sticks last a long time.

I know that TOBS, Honeybee, DR Harris, Mama Bear and QED make shave sticks, but I've never tried them. They seem popular though. Good luck!

Personally I love the performance of a shave stick. The even, thick coat of soap gives a large amount of protection from the nice cushion. I really feel that the product sinks into the skin to offer the added protection.

Ive rubbed cream evenly over my face to see if the results are similar, and they were.