What's new

1st shave in the books!

Okay, some of you know that I've been researching this stuff for several months. I've watched "most" of the videos, posted some questions and have even been trying to get down the process of lathering with my Mach (trial runs until my real razor showed up).

Well, I have to say through the patience of this board, I feel very comfortable with my setup, in fact I'm proud of it! Here is a list of my current gear:
  • Merkur long handled HD (38B) -beautiful blue handle
  • Penworks 22mm Finest Badger brush
  • Cnl. Conk Styptic Pencil (as of yet unused)
  • C.O. Bigelow Premium Shave Cream
  • Awesome blade sampler pack from westcoastshaving.com
  • Nivea replenishing post shave balm

After admiring my new cobalt blue Merkur for what seemed to be an hour, lifting the cap off...screwing it back down....taking dry runs down my cheek to see how it felt....I finally loaded it up with a Derby. Decided that was the blade for me to start out with. I opted to not load the Merkur blade that came with my razor, in fact I might just toss it because how can something that jostles around in a package all the way from Germany still be factory smooth and sharp?