What's new

Best Pipe Smoking Tip

Alright ......

In ALL your years of pipe smoking experience....
What is THE best tip / trick you can share ??
I've been smoking off and on for over 20 years and I swear,
some days its like I've just started.
I can burn a bowl with only a cuppa matches or
it can take an entire book.
Give it up, youze guys !
Share your favorite secrets.:thumbup1:

Hardly rocket science, but taking some tobacco out for an hour or so before you smoke and letting it dry a bit can have a huge effect on burning performance and enjoyment. This is especially true of flake tobaccos, which can be quite moist.

There's really no need to try to finish a bowl on a single match. Fine-cut and shag-cut tobaccos make it easier. I sometimes place a pile of tobacco in my palm, hold the pipe rim over the pile, and, holding the pipe still, rotate the pipe over the pile. This motion essentially screws the tobacco into the bowl. I fill the entire chamber, tamp down, and light.

Hardly rocket science, but taking some tobacco out for an hour or so before you smoke and letting it dry a bit can have a huge effect on burning performance and enjoyment. This is especially true of flake tobaccos, which can be quite moist.

I'll be the first to admit this is a great bit of information that I did not know about before. I have a new tin that I picked up a few weeks ago that I have not touched but will be getting the pre-drying treatment before I try it out for the first time.

Thanks Scotto!