What's new

May the Gods of Straight Shaving forgive me...

but I am considering to add a DE to my rotation, just for the experience. Am not sure that it's the best idea, but I will worry about this later.

My question now here to all Masters of DE here on B&B: which DE should I consider, keeping in mind that I am a novice in this art of shaving?

I was looking at some DE's on rasurpur.de (Martin, the owner, did some honing jobs for me as well as supplied me with a couple of my straights) and I was admiring the "Traditional Safety Razor 1904" (link: http://www.rasurpur.de/english/shop/shop.html) What are the thoughts on this one? And should I consider open or closed comb?

My mind is of course not firmly set on the above model, therefore any other suggestions are most welcome.

In advance, thanks for the input!
Cheers,

Jeff

The 1904 is attractive and works fine for many (I suggest open comb, but that's personal preference). I prefer a slightly heavier razor, so the HD is my usual suggestion. Let us know what you decide!

Why don't you hit up the BST here and pick up a vintage razor. Lots of great shavers to be had for a song.

I don't think its possible to go to DE after skipping over it and going straight to straight. I tried it with a vintage Gillette. No dice. Shave felt harsh and no fun.

edit:

I agree with the below post 100%. :biggrin:

Last edited:
L

Lo'Tek

This is something I have also seriously considered - NOT !

I have thought about a Rolls though; that's as close as I get.

Well, I went back from straight. Well, sort of. I mean, I added the DE into my circulation. I really do enjoy all of it. It's kinda like never using a soap because another is better. Mix it up. Just don't expect it to be better. But it is FASTER, and also easier to travel with. It'll prevent you from having to go disposable when you are flying. At least without checking your luggage.