What's new

Pipes

So I'm a college student, and cigars are quite expensive. Especially mine, I have expensive tastes (got started on Ashtons and love them). I just bought a humidor and I've pretty much depleted my bank account trying to fill it.

Several of my friends who have been smoking longer than I have keep suggesting I start smoking a pipe, because pipe tobacco is so much cheaper. That's kind of interesting to me, but I'm wondering if anyone has any tips on pipes for a newbie.

Also, is it a good idea to store pipe tobacco in a humidor? Or is storing pipe tobacco not as difficult as storing cigars?

To add what Rob said, you can buy an inexpensive pipe from Walgreens. They are decent quality. As far storing tobacco, I really don't worry about my humidity as I do with my cigars. I keep my tobacco stored in mason jars sitting on a shelf in my library. About 15 minutes before i plan to smoke, I put some tobacco on a paper towel and allow it to dry a little. A good rule of thumb (pun intended) is to squeeze the tobacco between your thumb and index finger and let it fall onto the paper towel. If it sticks to itself, then it is a little moist and will be hell to keep lit. After about 10-15 minutes on the towel, squeeze it together again, if it does not stick to itself, it should smoke fine. Anyhow thats what works for me.

DL

Funny you should post this. I recently went back to my pipes. I have close to 200 cigars in my humidors that I fell are getting neglected no, and I don't care. Frankly, I'm thinking about selling most, if not all, of them.

Back to the pipes. I recommend smoking partial bowls at first to build up a good heel cake, say half bowls for the first 10-15 or so. This will help make your smoke cool and dry.

One thing that I started doing was putting a papertowl in my pipe after dumping it and giving it a couple of twists making the char cake thin and hard.

Take all this with a grain of salt. Smoke what you like and like what you smoke.