What's new

City life, education and life. Advice, please.

Hi

I'm a 20 year old Norweigian, and I grew up out on a farm in the country, next to a small town. Agriculture isn't my cup of tea, and thankfully my dad never forced it on me. I like the country life. No stress, plenty of space, both in and outdoors.

Last year I was done with highschool, with good grades. Went to study at a big university. 200km away, in a big city - Trondheim. (Well, big enough for me. ) I'm studying physics. It's interesting. Due to the flexibility offered by the uni there's no obligatory attendance, and I can pick subjects freely, from math to greek history.

I live in a tiny apartment, all by myself. Pricey, but having a parking lot and no roommates costs alot. I have enough money left to live after I pay the rent.

The city life is not for me. Now, after a year I can safely say I don't want it permanently. I'll endure it, for knowledge's sake. I miss my home. I usually end up going home once a week.

It's the small things about city life I can't stand. Like having to walk 2-300m to get to my car. Living in a small apartment. Being forced to either walk or take the bus to get downtown or to attend class. (Cars work fine as long as you can park somewhere, and there's no parking I can afford downtown or near campus.) Not being able to have pets in my apartment(got a lovely cat and a devoted dog at home.) I miss the silent nights back home. Heck, I don't really like people. There's people everywhere in the city.

I'm determined to graduate. The problem is that I'm forcing myself into a lifestyle I don't want, for no long-term benefit except knowledge. Studying physics won't give me a worthwhile job at home, and I won't move to find work. I like it too much at home.