What's new

Help sought in making a rounded scent collection

I am very new to this "hobby", but am very much enjoying it. So far I have a collection of fragrances consisting of the following six:

Guerlain Vetiver (pre-owned purchase)

John Varvatos

Carlos Santana for Men

Azzaro Pour Homme

Etro Shal Nuur (pre-owned purchase)

YSL Rive Gauche Pour Homme

I appreciate variety as it allows me to select the fragrance based upon my mood, the weather and the occasion. I would like to add to this variety, For instance, I do not have an incense fragrance, a citrus, etc.

I have participated in the forums (but add my comments only when I have personal knowledge about the topic) and am very impressed with the knowledge and experience demonstrated by my fellow members. I am therefore asking for assistance in filling in those scent families which I do not have represented in my current collection.

I am a value-oriented person. I know that there are "niche" and other fragrances that are expensive. They may be fantastic, such as the Creeds, C&Ss, Penhaligons (sp) and highly praised by many members, but they are not for me. I plan on spending no more that $50.00 per fragrance through the many online discount vendors and members who are selling excess fragrances.

Also I am interested in trying several specific fragrances, but am not sure that one or more will add to the variety of my collection, They are:

Guerlain L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme

Boucheron L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme

Caron Number 3 / Le 3me Homme / The Third Man

Hermès Eau d'Hermès

Lalique Eau de Lalique

Gendarme Gendarme

OK, gents, where am I going wrong, what is missing, and what should I be looking for to get a more well rounded collection?

As always, your help and advise is very much appreciated and certainly not taken for granted.

David