What's new

I found my grandfathers Gillette

Hi

I'm a newbie to the world of DE shaving. Just a couple of weeks ago I knew nothing, but thanks to this marvelous place I'm feeling that I have started to learn a whole lot! Thanks!

I'm still waiting for my first DE order, it's in the mail and it is a Merkur HD. However, I suddenly one night remembered seing some kind of red box marked "Gillette" in my fathers house - and just as I tought it was my now late grandfathers razor.

My grandfather always had a lot of "cool" stuff - and I have to say, for some reason, i really like this one as well. It seems to be in perfect condition, maybe a minor cleaning/polishing job would make it shine even more. The case is also in nice shape.

I would be happy if you guys could help me with some info on this one. When was it made and likely purchased? Is it a good razor - could I/should I be using this one today? Other interesting facts about this razor?

I have to say that finding this razor really made me appreciate why people collect such things. Apart from the beauty of such a small thing it is something about all the stories connected to them. I would be very interested if someone could point me to a online resource for knowledge on collectable/vintage razors.

picture.php

picture.php

picture.php

Kind regards
olavni

Hi Olavni, welcome to B&B. Wow! Forget about that Merkur. This looks like a gorgeous English Gillette Aristocrat. Clean it up a bit and use it with pride! It's a beautiful razor and way better than the Merkur. I think you'll love it.

could I/should I be using this one today? Other interesting facts about this razor?

Many of us have found the vintage Gillette's to outperform the Merkur razors by miles.

I had a Merkur 38C (the long handle HD) but once I discovered a vintage 40's style Superspeed (which is similar to your razor, you have a variation on a Superspeed, but your's is made in England), my Merkur sat un-used in my cabinet.