What's new

Advice request - Want to make sure I don't make a mistake

I've been shaving with a Straight for about a month now.

So I've read all the posts regarding hones. I really one to get one. I'm a total newbie, but I just can't get it out of my head. My main razor needs a touch up and I don't really want to send it out, I want to do it myself. I have recently won a W&B that I'm going to send for new scales, a minor clean up and a hone. That's the reason I want to get a hone for my other razor as it will become my back up or second in my rotation depending on how good it gets.

From the advice I've read I should start with a finishing hone, seeing as I'm a newb. I have the two set of Dovo pastes, red and black for touch ups and it's not getting there any more. I understand this may be the 1D 10T error, but I still want to go to a hone for a starter. Anyways, My question is this, I think I should start with a Chinese Water stone:
http://www.fendrihan.com/chinese-natural-sharpening-water-stone-12000-grit-p-515.html

Would that be better than trying to pickup a barber hone? Most of the barber hones that I've seen going on Ebay right now are ending up almost the same price range anyway so it's not an issue with saving money. The impression I get from the information I've read so far is that it would be better as this would be finer than a barber hone.

Any advice would be gladly appreciated. Please correct me if I'm misunderstanding some of this. Thank you!!

I've posted this over at SRP as well if some people think they're seeing double. LOL

I have that stone and I like it, although I also find I like almost any stone once I've spent time understanding it.

Some tell me this hone is very slow so I would take that advice in as well. I find that 30 passes is not unusual for finishing, for me.

Others say they may use 100. Now that would be really slow.

It is not the best hone on the planet, but for the price point it could be one of the better values.