What's new

Changing Technique with Blades?

Folks, I'll open by saying that I'm a noob. I've been using a DE razor for just short of a year. I started out using Merkur and Derby blades in my Merkur HD/Noob razor. I began to favor the Merkur blades. I wanted to like the Derby's and thought that they were better at first. However, on my third day with a new Derby my skin would get very irritated after the first pass. So I began to favor the Merkur's and never had any skin irritations.

About a week ago I noticed that I was running out of blades and was considering changing blades. I was very curious about the Feathers and wanted to give them a whirl. Today was my first shave with a Feather. I was impressed with how close I got on my first pass and continued on for passes 2 & 3 being careful because of Feather's reputation for sharpness.

After I completed and started to wash my face with cold water I noticed that my shave was somewhat inconsistent compared to what I experienced with a new Merkur blade a day earlier. This brings me to my question; does anyone change their technique when they change their blades?

With the Merkur's I went WTG, WTG, ATG and got a very consistent and close shave. I'm considering experimenting tomorrow but was curious since I had gotten used to a blade and technique and this is the first time in a long time that I changed blades.

First, with respect to your experience, it's possible that your technique changed out of fear/respect for the Feather blade (and understandably so). For many of us it takes a few shaves to get used to a new blade.