What's new

Electric toothbrush?

I've been following comments in the toothpaste thread and thought this merited a separate heading. I've never had an electric and have always considered them to be a novelty. My dentist has a little Sonicare display by the sink, but has never recommended them or even mentioned them.
Obviously, some of you guys like these and I'm wondering why? What is the difference between a Sonicare and other electrics? What about a WaterPick?

I have bad gums. Years ago I kept getting ANUG (Acute Necrotizing Ulcerating Gingivitis). It looked like I had large canker sores all over my gums. My dentist told me the best way to prevent that from happening again is to make sure that my gums get massaged a lot when I was brushing. He said that brushing by hand doesn't do as good of a job as a good electric toothbrush. I have been using one for about 20 years and haven't had ANUG again.

My wife and I use sonic care because they have an office about 5 miles from us. Every often they do tests where they try out new models. My wife or I sign up for a test. As payment they give us a new unit. My wife, my two daughters and I each have our own.

I have used the Braun Oral B for many years, the most recent model being the one with the smartguide.

I find brushing my teeth a chore, and that chore is made easier with an electric toothbrush that even tells me when to move to another part of my mouth. It makes sure that I brush long enough and leaves my teeth feeling really clean.

If you get your teeth cleaned 2x a year and you start using a toothbrush like this one, you'll find that the cleanings go a lot faster and are less savage.

The bottom line is everyone's different. If you were a statistic, you could pick the one that wins the clinical studies safe in the knowledge that it's best for you. But you're no statistic, so you have a little more to do.