PDA

View Full Version : Attn: Merkur Fans

heynetboy
07-04-2008, 06:25 PM
I was wondering which one you prefer and why? I have seen there are many to choose from and I don't know where to start. I am happy using my 59' Fat Boy so far but I would like to try some new razors in the quest for the perfect shave.

RichGem
07-04-2008, 06:30 PM
The 1904 and the "Classic" are my favs. Superspeeds just didn't get close enough for me.

wtruitt
07-04-2008, 06:31 PM
Great question.. I have only a Merkur HD which I like alot, though.. I am new to the world of DE. I find the HD a very 'non aggressive' razor, though I have found that I am very fond of my Gillette SS. I am eager to see what you get, as I have been thinking of Progress or Futur.. the Vision looks nice, though a tad on the $$ for me..

Wayne

wtruitt
07-04-2008, 06:33 PM
The 1904 and the "Classic" are my favs. Superspeeds just didn't get close enough for me. Have you tried the HD? I thought the Classic and HD were similar, yet I found that my SS shaves a tad closer than my HD.. I used Derby's and Gillette 7'oClocks in each w/ same (SS a tad closer..).. guess it's another YMMV scenario..

Wayne

kevtex
07-04-2008, 06:35 PM
The HD is my go to razor. I have a SS and Tech but the HD feels better in my hand and gives me a great shave.

dpm802
07-04-2008, 06:52 PM
I recently got a Gold-HD, and its good, but I admit that my Gillettes shave closer. I started with Derby blades in it last week, this week I'm using Crystals.

The HD attracted my attention because so many people were talking about it here, and it seems to be the standard yardstick when comparing everything else. So I wanted one to know what everyone was talking about. I knew even before I got it that its not the world's best DE, but its definitely the world's best seller.