View Full Version : Creed Irish Tweed
galleryg
02-23-2008, 07:45 PM
Tried a sample of this stuff recently and fell in love. So for the hell of it I trolled ebay to see if any bargains were available and sure enough I just scored a 4 oz bottle NIB for just $34. woot!!!!!!!!!!!!!:w00t: Can't wait I was really strreching my 1.5 ml sample
usqview
02-23-2008, 08:08 PM
oh man... git is one of the most faked edts out there, especially thru ebay.
i hope you were able to get the real thing. the bottle should have a date code on the bottom.
cheers,
ryan
PTurchan
02-23-2008, 08:13 PM
Where did you get the sample from? I bought some Mama Bear GIT shaving soap and the smell is so crisp and clean. This led me to seek out the cologne which I found out carries quite a hefty price tag. A sample is definitely in order though.
galleryg
02-23-2008, 11:10 PM
oh man... git is one of the most faked edts out there, especially thru ebay.
i hope you were able to get the real thing. the bottle should have a date code on the bottom.
cheers,
ryan
Thanks for the warning. I haven't paid yet and I think you may be right. I am asking so very direct questions about it. The more I investigate the more fishy it seems. Nice to know B&B Folks got your back!
rtheen
02-24-2008, 12:09 AM
Do not get it from ebay, it is all a headache.
Bricktop
02-24-2008, 04:42 AM
I sampled GIT at Neiman Marcus about a year ago, and it did zip for me.
Recently I bought a decant of it from the Perfumed Court, and I have done
a 180 on it. It's very nice, but I can't recall getting this many compliments
on a frag in YEARS. It must do something with my chemistry that I don't
quite get. The wife insists I get some more. No armtwisting needed.
This is one I will not buy on eBay. No Green Frich Tweed for me.
RichmondR
02-24-2008, 06:27 AM
galleryg --
There is a very,very high probability that it is a fake ... can you post a link to the auction?
Dont worry about this happening as there is a lot of it on ebay and some of it is actually legit, but not at those prices. There is an extensive discussion of fake Creed on another website discussion board, basenotes.net.
I wonder how many people have purchased fake GIT on ebay and have gotten turned off to the fragrance only to realize they never sampled the real thing.
jmarlow277
02-24-2008, 08:07 AM
Do NOT, I repeat, Do Not buy Green Irish Tweed on ebay...i'm no mathematician but I would make a guess that 95 percent (probably even higher) of the green irish tweed bottles on ebay are fake. Especially at that price. There may be positive feedback from a seller but that doesnt always mean the bottle is genuine. Oftentimes buyers don't even know they're buying a knockoff. I hate to be the bearer of bad news but with Creed it is best to just bite the bullet and pay the pricetag of Niemans of parfumsraffy.com There may be some genuine bottles of creed up for sale on ebay but usually anything related to green irish tweed is fake, in addition be on the look out for the abundance of fake silver mountain waters floating around on ebay...sorry for the bad news.
usqview
02-24-2008, 10:29 AM
Thanks for the warning. I haven't paid yet and I think you may be right. I am asking so very direct questions about it. The more I investigate the more fishy it seems. Nice to know B&B Folks got your back!
glad that you hadnt paid for it yet. scentiments and fragrancenet are two good online shops for creeds. creeds have a product code on the bottom of the bottle, these two places usually have those number ground out but it is still the real deal. they ground out the numbers so the bottle cant be tracked back to the original retailer.
several words of advice that i have heard about ebay-
make sure it isnt a stock photo- if it is ask for an actual photo, one of the serial numbers too
always check their feedback score- over 99%, more than 200 sales, deals exclusively in frags are all must haves for me.
if you like it enough wait until you have the money for it and get a legit bottle. creed is one of the top targets of counterfeits, most other high end colognes dont have this problem.
cheers and glad you posted here so others (some that have been burned before) can help prevent you from getting burned.
ryan
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.