PDA

View Full Version : Aristocrat assistance/guidance requested



GrandeVT
10-27-2011, 09:54 AM
I've recently acquired a 30s Aristocrat in seemingly nice condition. When the razor is in the open position, with the silo doors open, I can freely open and close the doors just by pushing up and down on the TTO knob at the bottom of the handle, thereby sliding the rod in and out. They just flap open and shut. I can not do this with any of my Superspeeds or Slim. Turning the knob opens and closes the silo doors as it does on all of my other TTO razors. With or without blade in place they close evenly and securely.

Is this normal, by design, or is there something broken or missing internally?

Any knowledge, information or help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

BlkKnight
10-27-2011, 10:19 AM
This

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/122282-TTO-Repair-Tool

I'd personally remove the cutter and use a copper washer.

KM-instructor
10-27-2011, 10:24 AM
Can't you just crimp the ring?

KM-instructor
10-27-2011, 10:25 AM
This

http://badgerandblade.com/vb/showthread.php/122282-TTO-Repair-Tool

I'd personally remove the cutter and use a copper washer.
LOL, Ok guess that answered that question, should have looked at that one first.

GrandeVT
10-27-2011, 10:43 AM
Can't do it to a newly acquired Aristocrat. SCARED!

BlkKnight
10-27-2011, 03:57 PM
it's broken in it's current state.

You will most likely damage the gold plate though :(

GrandeVT
10-27-2011, 04:44 PM
Interestingly, if I put a blade in it and tighten it down it looks and shaves just fine. (?) I really don't want to damage it further. What to do...?