SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 54,609
Products 3,184
Reviews 20,517
Views 5,926,436

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« October 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 

Random Products -
[Shaving Creams (Reviews)]


thumb_EJbrush.jpg
The Shave Den (TSD)


thumb_kos.jpg
Beauticontrol Warmi


thumb_adp_colonia.jpg
Truefitt & Hill


Skin_Bracer_Original.jpg
Perricone Shave Cre


trscm.jpg
The Real Shaving Co.


thumb_mosswood.jpg
Veleiro Creme de Ba

· more ·
 



thumb_brush.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

In M3 Remission
Posts: 23
Registered: February 2009
Location: Northern NJ

 

Barbasol Skin Conditioner Shaving Cream
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 1777 Thu April 16, 2009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated None indicated

 

Description:
Whoever thought that you could get such a comforting shave from a dirt cheap, store-bought shaving cream? Well, the answer is in your hands with Barbasol Skin Conditioner Shaving Cream.



This variety of Barbasol is quite different from the regular version that comes in the red can. What makes it so special is that is contains an added ingredient, which is LANOLIN. While not quite up to par with Musgo Real, it definitely offers a nice cushion, and is quite forgiving with even the sharpest blades. Plus, I find that it has great moisturizing properties, and I generally do not have to resort to an ASB since it conditions my very sensitive skin quite well.



The only complaint is that the smell is somewhat of a departure from the traditional Barbasol scent. I have a feeling that due to the lanolin content, it alters the fragrance to a degree. It's certainly not a negative aspect, but if you're a hardcore Barbasol user like me that lives for the "old-school" scent, then you might be somewhat disappointed.
Keywords: Barbasol Skin Conditioner Shaving Cream

<<
AOS_Cream.jpg

 

Author
CloseShave09
In M3 Remission

Registered: February 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 23
Review Date: Thu April 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 9
Scent: 7
Latherability: 9
Efficacy: 9
Moisturizing Properties: 9
Packaging: 10

 
Whoever thought that you could get such a comforting shave from a dirt cheap, store-bought shaving cream? Well, the answer is in your hands with Barbasol Skin Conditioner Shaving Cream.



This variety of Barbasol is quite different from the regular version that comes in the red can. What makes it so special is that is contains an added ingredient, which is LANOLIN. While not quite up to par with Musgo Real, it definitely offers a nice cushion, and is quite forgiving with even the sharpest blades. Plus, I find that it has great moisturizing properties, and I generally do not have to resort to an ASB since it conditions my very sensitive skin quite well.



The only complaint is that the smell is somewhat of a departure from the traditional Barbasol scent. I have a feeling that due to the lanolin content, it alters the fragrance to a degree. It's certainly not a negative aspect, but if you're a hardcore Barbasol user like me that lives for the "old-school" scent, then you might be somewhat disappointed.

------------------------------
Currently in the shave den -

Razor: Merkur 38C "Barber Pole"
Creams: Proraso, Musgo Real, Derby
Soaps: Williams Mug Shaving Soap (an oldie, but goodie!), Burt's Bees Bay Rum Soap
Brush: Art of Shaving Fine Badger Brush
Blades: Wilkinson Swords, Derbys, Gillette Swedes, Personnas
Aftershave: Nivea Extra Soothing Balm
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
bubalu
Whisker Whacker

Registered: February 2007
Posts: 50
Review Date: Tue June 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Scent:
Latherability:
Efficacy:
Moisturizing Properties:
Packaging:

 
Yes, I agree this stuff is actually pretty darn good. Nice cushion, forgiving, slick and actually moisturizing. It surprised the heck out of me. I have tried the aloe version and it is pretty good as well, not as moisturizing though, but it does sooth the skin and moisturize some - good for the summer. The scent of the skin conditioning type smells very similar to Alberto VO 5 hair dressing which has lanolin in it as well. Canned foam usually eats me face after 3 uses, but this stuff hasn't done it after 1/2 a can, nor has the aloe type. By the way the aloe type does smell like aloe. I do like the scent of the regular Barbarsol, but it has no moisturizing properties and is not for me. For me, this (the skin conditioning and the aloe types) could be the best bargain in shaving.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
TimMechEngr

I do lunch with Springs1

Registered: January 2009
Location: Charlotte, NC, USA
Posts: 878
Review Date: Fri August 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 0
Quality: 0
Scent: 0
Latherability: 0
Efficacy: 0
Moisturizing Properties: 0
Packaging: 0

 
I had to pick up my jaw when I saw Barbasol being listed here.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.