SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 51,775
Products 3,148
Reviews 20,380
Views 5,562,432

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« July 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


kmfvanilla.jpg
Mardor Antique Fram


thumb_B_og_B_-_2.jpg
Gillette ProGlide


thumb_burberry_brit.jpg
Parker 96r


thumb_benjarum.jpg
Parker 73R


thumb_booster_oriental_spice_AS.jpg
Edwin Jagger DE86


d4_2.JPG.jpg
Merkur HD

· more ·
 



thumb_schick.JPG









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Wetshaver Wannabe
Posts: 2
Registered: March 2009

 

Muehle R106 Safety Razor
Reviews Views Date of last review
7 3646 Tue February 25, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $44.50 9.5

 

Description:
This mid sized razor arrived nicely eco-packaged with the trademark minature badger brush tag of the brand. Clever cross-sell strategy (MÜHLE are a world-class brush manufacturer - http://www.muehle-shaving.com/) given how soft the baby bristles are, easily a match for my evergreeen 20year old silver tipped Kent.



Beautifully made, great balance and a compact small head makes it highly manoevrable. The instructions propose a half turn of the 3 piece design for the more angular parts of the face, and this does make for an even closer result at the expense of the risk of a little neck irritation, except it is difficult once half-turned to prevent the head from working loose further. With a little collar of very fine cork holding the blade a smidgen further away from the closed comb edge, the razor would become more aggressive, though it would be fiddly to adopt this kind of Heath Robinson route given it is a 3 piece.



As it is it's a very safe shave, no risk of nicks unless exceptionally heavy handed, and ideal on that basis for travelling and fast early morning passes.



Load a Feather blade into the R106 and the result is fabulous, close, encourages you to use assertively without any fear, and gives an absoutely smooth jawline.



Put a Gilette Swede into the R106, and the result on day 1 is superb. Day 3 or4 may not be as efficient as with the 38c, but it does get the job done.



Next to the Merkur 38c it is better finished, lighter and the better for it, but there's a little bit more pressure and buffing involved to achieve a perfect result with any other blade other than a Feather.



As a comparison, Merkur's 38c plus Swede produce a great shave with slightly less buffing, whilst the smoothness of a Swede feels to me superior to a Feather, confirmed with a quick pass of the alum block afterwards.



Load a Feather into the 38c, and the R106 is much the preferred implement. The slightly closer set of the blade to the comb on the R106 tames the quiveringly sharp Feather edge whilst cutting through very cleanly. Feathers blunt rapidly, so there's only 2 really good shaves in it, the next 2 being comparable to a 4 day old Swede.



The Merkur remains my go to razor for its marginally more aggressive profile, and for its perfect suitability with Gilette Swedes, which I'm well stocked up on. But one day they will run out and when that happens, faced with the Gilette 7 o'clock Russians rebranded and repackaged as Gilette's European Safety blades as the closest substitutes, and having already rejected Merkur and Derby blades as just not sharp enough, I'll probably swing over to the R106 + feathers exclusively.



As it is I'm using the R106 a great deal because it's such a well balanced razor and so safe to use.
Keywords: Muehle R106 Safety Razor

<<
Parker_94R.jpg thumb_bellag.jpg

 

Author
nimar

Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 2
Review Date: Fri March 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
This mid sized razor arrived nicely eco-packaged with the trademark minature badger brush tag of the brand. Clever cross-sell strategy (MÜHLE are a world-class brush manufacturer - http://www.muehle-shaving.com/) given how soft the baby bristles are, easily a match for my evergreeen 20year old silver tipped Kent.



Beautifully made, great balance and a compact small head makes it highly manoevrable. The instructions propose a half turn of the 3 piece design for the more angular parts of the face, and this does make for an even closer result at the expense of the risk of a little neck irritation, except it is difficult once half-turned to prevent the head from working loose further. With a little collar of very fine cork holding the blade a smidgen further away from the closed comb edge, the razor would become more aggressive, though it would be fiddly to adopt this kind of Heath Robinson route given it is a 3 piece.



As it is it's a very safe shave, no risk of nicks unless exceptionally heavy handed, and ideal on that basis for travelling and fast early morning passes.



Load a Feather blade into the R106 and the result is fabulous, close, encourages you to use assertively without any fear, and gives an absoutely smooth jawline.



Put a Gilette Swede into the R106, and the result on day 1 is superb. Day 3 or4 may not be as efficient as with the 38c, but it does get the job done.



Next to the Merkur 38c it is better finished, lighter and the better for it, but there's a little bit more pressure and buffing involved to achieve a perfect result with any other blade other than a Feather.



As a comparison, Merkur's 38c plus Swede produce a great shave with slightly less buffing, whilst the smoothness of a Swede feels to me superior to a Feather, confirmed with a quick pass of the alum block afterwards.



Load a Feather into the 38c, and the R106 is much the preferred implement. The slightly closer set of the blade to the comb on the R106 tames the quiveringly sharp Feather edge whilst cutting through very cleanly. Feathers blunt rapidly, so there's only 2 really good shaves in it, the next 2 being comparable to a 4 day old Swede.



The Merkur remains my go to razor for its marginally more aggressive profile, and for its perfect suitability with Gilette Swedes, which I'm well stocked up on. But one day they will run out and when that happens, faced with the Gilette 7 o'clock Russians rebranded and repackaged as Gilette's European Safety blades as the closest substitutes, and having already rejected Merkur and Derby blades as just not sharp enough, I'll probably swing over to the R106 + feathers exclusively.



As it is I'm using the R106 a great deal because it's such a well balanced razor and so safe to use.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
nimar

Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: March 2009
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun April 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
A month on, and given time to get used to the new razor, the MÜHLE gives 6, at a pinch 7, great shaves out of a Gillette Swede with 3 fast passes, is smooth and remains forgiving.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
lradke

Wing Man for Stan

Registered: March 2008
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 160
Review Date: Thu December 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: -1
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
I got this razor as a Christmas gift (hence the n/a for price). It is by far my favorite DE razor I own. It is my first 3 piece razor, so changing the blade was a bit interesting at first, but is not a problem now.

The razor is amazing quality and very easy to use. Even though the handle is sleek and smooth, your hand doesn't slip while holding the razor. As for aggressiveness, I don't really understand what perspective it is coming from so I will say this. I first used a Feather blade in it and I could not feel the blade drag across my face. It was amazing as I couldn't feel the blade, as I can in my other razors, but it was giving an excellent shave. I tend to get a few nicks every shave, but it was no problem with the Muhle. Also, I have never had a shave be so smooth for so long, as I have with this razor. So it doesn't seem to be aggressive, but it gives an exellent shave...one of the best I have had. The balance is also amazing too. The razor is longer than my Gillettes, but seems much more balanced and not as top heavy as my other razors.



This razor was a great gift and I love it.

------------------------------
Cheers!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Tom Ford

I found a dead Badger

Registered: June 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 540
Review Date: Wed June 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: -1
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
I recently purchased the Muehle out of necessity since losing my Merkur HD. I tried ordering another, however the Merkur was out stock.



I'm glad I purchased this razor, it was slightly cheaper than HD, but in my opinion has superior, balance, finish and aesthetic. Looks wonderful on the bathroom counter top, along with my Rooney brush, and shave bowl.



I used my normal Red Personna blade, and this is where my only criticism comes in. It's a 3 piece razor, and its fiddly securing the blade, as opposed to a two piece.



As for the shave, well I think it provides a superior shave to the HD too. It seems to be more efficient but forgiving, and using it for the first time, provided me with a 3 pass BBS with no irritation, knick or weeper. A great way to start the day.



A great razor, I would certainly recommend to a newbie or seasoned pro.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
squarerigger

I Dream of DE

Registered: December 2009
Location: James City County, Virginia, USA
Posts: 67
Review Date: Thu June 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: -1
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
Have been shaving with a Merkur adjustable and was pleased. I used Crystal blades in the Merkur. I tried Feather in the merkur but got one or two weepers per shave. Now that I have the Muehle R106, I use Feathers all the time and no weepers, just a close safe shave. The razor is a very well made piece of equipment. I am going to buy a second to have as a backup.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Lasse

Beard Preppie

Registered: February 2011
Posts: 86
Review Date: Fri February 24, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $33.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 9
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 10
Adjustability: 10
Balance: 10

 
With Muhle I can really hear a clear crisp sand paper sound. Apparently it is more aggressive than Gillette 1930s/1940s New Open Comb which is - for me at least - a safer alternative. R106 has bigger handle but thanks to the plastic design it is remarkably light. Hard to say which one is lighter the aforementioned Gillette or Muhle but at least Muhle has a lighter handle than a Merkur 39 C. This is definately a razor for lightly used De Blades. I get a maximum of 5 comfortable shaving sessions per blade. When I´m using the New Open Comb Gillette the blade seems to last longer. All in all this is the most beautifully designed DE razor I have ever used. I´m using the one with the white handle (R102) and it is stunning. Even though it might look really shiny the plastic handle provides as comfortable grip as chrome or nickel plated handles. Sure it gets wet from exposure to soap but it is easy to wipe clean between passes. Awesome razor I may not need to purchase a new DE Open Comb in a long time.

------------------------------
a beard floating in mid-air
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Lasse's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
LessHairyCelt
Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: February 2014
Posts: 2
Review Date: Tue February 25, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $56.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): Not Agressive at all. Great Balance. Great Look.
Cons: Three piece head.
Price: 5
Quality: 9
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 5
Aggressiveness: 1
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 7

 
I have been using this razor for about a week now and I have to say that my first impression of it was great. I first saw this razor at an Art of Shaving store and thought it was the nicest looking of the bunch that they had. I then was drawn to it again when shopping for a razor on Amazon and ended up getting it. This is my second DE razor and it shaves incredibly close without giving razor burn. I can be as heavy handed as I want without the worry of getting nicks. I will probably end up getting a second one to use in my D-Bag so that I do not have to worry about packing one.

------------------------------
Just a guy with a Razor
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.