SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 55,379
Products 3,194
Reviews 20,559
Views 6,040,924

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« November 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


R89_Rosegold.jpg
Muhle R89 Rosegold S


R89.png
Muhle R89 [2011]


thumb_ambrose_AIMG_4987.jpg
Pils DE All Stainle


thumb_blue_spice.jpg
1965 Gillette Super


thumb_Afb000.jpg
Dorco Special PL-20


thumb_IMG_1058.JPG
Parker 65R

· more ·
 



floridawater.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

The Merkurian Candidate
Posts: 626
Registered: October 2006
Location: Salisbury, UK

 

Wilkinson Sword Classic DE Razor
Reviews Views Date of last review
42 6907 Tue July 22, 2014
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $4.50 7.3

 

Description:

Hi guys, I'm a real 'newbie' to this Fantastic, Informative website. I am also new to the Double edge safety razor scene. I have wet shaved for as long as I needed to shave, but only now have I mustered the courage to try a DE razor. Two things made me come to my decision, 1. cartidge blade prices seem to be flying through the roof, and DE blades seem to be very cheap in comparison. 2ndly. I have always been curious of how a DE razor would feel when shaving and how it would compare to my usual Gillette Mach3.
I have now had my little 'Wilko Classic' for a few weeks and will never go back! I get a great, close shave and at a fraction of the cost. I must admit, I have been studying this 'Art' now for a while and have made a few extra purcheses. I am currently using a 'Derby extra' blade, Proraso shaving soap in a bowl ( great stuff), a 'Best Badger' brush, Alum block and 'Proraso after shave cream'. I intend to fully exploit the market and hopefully try as many products as I can. Lastly - "Wow guys, What a great site!", and Thanks to all who take the time to leave their Opinions, reviews, Ideas, and any other information on this site - you have made a great site greater! Thank you.
Keywords: Wilkinson Sword Classic DE Razor

<<
DSCF2816_red-tip_small.jpg DSCF2819_flare-tip_small.jpg

 

Author
Razorlite

The Merkurian Candidate

Registered: October 2006
Location: Salisbury, UK
Posts: 626
Review Date: Sun October 15, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 

Hi guys, I'm a real 'newbie' to this Fantastic, Informative website. I am also new to the Double edge safety razor scene. I have wet shaved for as long as I needed to shave, but only now have I mustered the courage to try a DE razor. Two things made me come to my decision, 1. cartidge blade prices seem to be flying through the roof, and DE blades seem to be very cheap in comparison. 2ndly. I have always been curious of how a DE razor would feel when shaving and how it would compare to my usual Gillette Mach3.
I have now had my little 'Wilko Classic' for a few weeks and will never go back! I get a great, close shave and at a fraction of the cost. I must admit, I have been studying this 'Art' now for a while and have made a few extra purcheses. I am currently using a 'Derby extra' blade, Proraso shaving soap in a bowl ( great stuff), a 'Best Badger' brush, Alum block and 'Proraso after shave cream'. I intend to fully exploit the market and hopefully try as many products as I can. Lastly - "Wow guys, What a great site!", and Thanks to all who take the time to leave their Opinions, reviews, Ideas, and any other information on this site - you have made a great site greater! Thank you.

------------------------------
____________________________________________
Van

Be a philosopher; but, admidst all your philosophy, be still a man. (David Hume, 1737)


Razorlite's Entry Into The Hall Of Fame


Find me here!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit Razorlite's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
wacker

Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: October 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 10
Review Date: Tue October 31, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 3
User Friendly: 5
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 4
Aggressiveness: 2
Adjustability:
Balance: 2

 
The best thing about this one is the blades it comes with,

If you only want to see if DE safety razors are for you this is a cheap way to test the water.

But for the money you can get a buterfly Gillete that is a far beter job!

------------------------------
"Cheers Wacker"
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
scotish shaver
Starter Kit Surfer

Registered: October 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 41
Review Date: Tue October 31, 2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 4
User Friendly: 5
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 4
Adjustability:
Balance: 4

 
This is my first DE shavers and as im a noob to the whole DE shaving i though is was a good razor but took a while to get a decent shave form it (about 3-4 pases) howerver was good if just for the price and the blades are good to.

------------------------------
-Andy- ( Is it time to shave yet?)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BoldSpice

Beard Preppie

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 82
Review Date: Mon March 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 8
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 4
Adjustability:
Balance: 6

 
This has a different balance and weight to the Merkur HD (it's half the weight) but it's not a bad razor at all.



The grip on the handle is very good whether you hold it in the middle or at the end. There's also a grip on the head to loosen/tighten the razor for blade changes or to make the shave a bit more aggressive - it's quite a mild shave when fully closed down.



The head of the razor has a bar for the blade to slot onto, like a TTO razor, rather than the two pins of some razors. This holds that blade rock solid, and I wish the Merkur slant was designed this way.



It's a nicely designed razor that just happens to be cheap and made (partially) of plastic.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dead Ed

Lather Learner

Registered: January 2007
Location: Ireland
Posts: 61
Review Date: Fri April 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 8
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability:
Balance: 8

 
My first DE. shaved better than a cartrige after a few uses. Well built once you realise it's plastic. The metal bar in the handle is a nice touch and improves balance. However, coming back to this after using the HD/Futur/agillette adjustable is interesting. Lots of scraping and some pain. Good starter razor though and cheap as hell!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jblackmd
In M3 Remission

Registered: July 2007
Posts: 20
Review Date: Mon July 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 4
User Friendly: 4
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 2
Aggressiveness: 3
Adjustability:
Balance: 4

 
I am new to DE shaving, and I was curious as to how this ultra-cheap system would work. By and large, the shave was ok but tends a little towards not aggressive enough. The plastic head doesn't glide as nicely as a metal one, and the balance is just fair. The head is just a little bit too bulky to get around my nose well. The handle is too light to allow the razor to do the work. Changing blades is a little scary.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
usman_a

I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: April 2007
Posts: 110
Review Date: Mon July 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 3
Adjustability:
Balance: 2

 
this was and is my first DE razor....its a perfect razor to use for someone that new to shaving or new to de shaving.



Its not aggressiveness as most of the DE brothers but for that reason alone it makes a perfect razor to use for touch up shaves specially if you have sensitive skin.



I have a Slant which I use for my main shaving requirements and have recently started to use this classic DE to touch up in between shaves to make me look presentable not to get a BBS.

End of the day this razor there to make you look presentable and provide a easy de shave......

------------------------------
Razors: Merkur-Progress / Merkur Slant (gold plated) / 1959 Gillette Fatboy
Blades: Merkur/Wilkinson/ Nacet / Gillette Platinum / Feathers and west coast sample pack
Brushes: ES Best Badger / Kent BK2
Soaps: D R Harris Lavender / C&E Sandalwood
Creams: C&E Sandalwood
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
FaPat5

I Dream of DE

Registered: May 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1656
Review Date: Fri August 31, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 6
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability:
Balance: 6

 
My first DE razor. I used it for some time, before finally switching to a Gillette Tech, and although I'll probably never go back to it, it was at least a good way to get into DE shaving. The blades are ok, but nothing to cry about. If you don't want to buy anything pricy, then at least invest in some better blades.



With regards to price, it is very cheap, and the only alternative in its price bracket (in the UK at least) is to buy the own-brand Boots razor. I bought this one over the boots, because I thought it looked a little cheap.



With regards to quality, what can I say? Its ok, at the end of the day its mainly plastic, and sometimes you get little bits where you can see that it was cut off a piece of plastic. Its ok for the money I suppose.



User-friendliness is not really something I could describe with this razor. It is not too aggressive, but still manages to be quite cruel. Once you know how to shave with a DE razor I suppose its ok. I do like how once the blade is in it, its pretty much hidden, apart from the edges. On a lot of razors you seem to have a little tab of the blade showing on the sides (notably, on the Gillette Tech, and I think on Merkur Classic razors too). Here, however, you only see the cutting edges showing.



The grip is great actually. No matter how wet or full of lather your fingers are, you can still hold this thing quite well. So, that is impressive, and the metal bar at least gives it some good weight.



Blade replacement is quite easy, you just put the blade on the top, so the plastic bits can fit through the hole, and then you put the top on and screw it in. The best part of this razor, and I wish other manufacturers would think of a cool system like this (yes I know that a butterfly head is just as safe) instead of having to load the razor with the head upside down.



It is not really aggressive, but its difficult to describe. Its not really the smoothest shaver, and you can cut yourself easily, but its not really aggressive. Its just neutral.



Not adjustable, so I did not give it a rating there.



In terms of balance, if you like your handle weighty, then this is quite good. For a beginner at least, I found it very good. I don't think I would have liked it as much if the head had been the weighty part.



Overall, its a great way to start DE shaving, but in my view, once you know how to do it, you should upgrade to something a little better, and you will instantly see an improvement (unless you buy something rubbish).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
notanexit

DE Envious

Registered: August 2007
Location: Venice, Italy
Posts: 32
Review Date: Sun September 16, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 5
Aggressiveness: 4
Adjustability:
Balance: 4

 
I have to say that I like this razor!

Of course it's not a great DE and it can't stand in the same category as, say, Merkur HD, various Gillettes etc. etc. but if you are a newbie, if you're on a budget, if you have a light beard and don't aim to an ultra-close shave (like myself) it can be a good choice. I paid about 5 euros for it (w/5 blades).

I still use it on a regular basis (with IP or Merkur blades): for sure it doesn't give me the greatest shave (absolutely not BBS), but then again i don't get razor burn or ingrown hairs which is the most important thing to me!

Regards

------------------------------
Gianpietro

Eternal nothingness is fine if you happen to be dressed for it.
Woody Allen
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
CFMerkury

In M3 Remission

Registered: September 2007
Posts: 24
Review Date: Thu September 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 2
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 10

 
This is a buy that I don't know whether I regret or not knowing that it only cost me 3.5 euros (ARKO costs 2 euros).

Well, I like that it is not at all agressive, but that makes BBS almost impossible.

I has good balance, and a good grip, but I would have preferred a thousand times to have jumped directly to the Merkur 38C.

It is also a pain to clean because under the head it has areas where you just cannot clean and they end up white and stuff.



To make a long story short, would I recommend this? Yes, if your only other alternative are no name Safety DEs that would most probably draw the world map on your face (that was my case at the time).



If you can get any DE with a recognizable name on it, just skip this one and don't waste even your time thinking about getting it.

------------------------------
"The truth of a theory is in your mind, not in your eyes." Albert Einstein
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
SGP
Wetshaver Wannabe

Registered: October 2007
Posts: 3
Review Date: Sat October 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 5
User Friendly: 6
Grip: 5
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 0
Adjustability:
Balance: 5

 
Please note my ratings are very inexperienced. As such I omitted 'Aggresiveness' as I cannot compare it to any other DE razor, given I only have this one.



As many people who have commented on this razor, I too bought it as my first (and currently only) DE razor, given it's low-cost (I paid 4 for the razor, including 5 Wilkinson Sword Classic blades); thereby minimizing the loss if I were to find it not to my liking.



After trying this razor I was not disappointed; though I was not impressed either. I decided that to give it a fair shot, I would buy some different blades, given I know the difference in the blades of multiple blade systems can be huge. I originally switched from a Mach 3 due to it's price and in my opinion relative bluntness to a Wilkinson Sword Protector Diamond 3D, which is a 2-blade razor - cheaper blades, and much sharper, with a greater longevity.



The blades I purchased were: a 10-pack of Astra Superior Platinum blades, and a 10-pack of Feathers.



I have now tried both brands of blade, and am much happier overall. With either of these blades, this razor gives me a lovely shave (with my preference being slightly toward the Astras). Whilst I feel my shave with the Wilkinson Sword Protector Diamond 3D was for now as-close, this razor has the advantage of far cheaper blades, and in some areas greater ease to execute the shave (just above and below my lips, etc.).



I would certainly recommend this razor to anyone wishing to explore the realms of Safety DE Razors, or anyone wishing to broaden their collection & experience with them.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Aevum

Bruce Lee of Wet Shaving

Registered: September 2007
Location: Madrid, spain
Posts: 3551
Review Date: Tue October 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 5
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 5
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability:
Balance: 5

 
price : well, at 2,69 euros, with a pack of 5 blades, you cant really go wrong,
i didnt like the blades that came with it, but that depends on the country,

quality: and thats the low side of being cheap, the quality isnt very good, but then again, the price makes up for it, so it could basicly be made out of tin and break after 5 uses, 2,69 with a pack of 5 wilkinson blades still make the quality acceptable,

User Friendly: the extra smooth round head lets you explore with the correct angle in which you need to shave your skin, the problem is that being that smooth and also being the shaver which most people try out first when moving from an electric or a cartrige razor to a DE razor, meaning that its quite proboble that they have the wrist issue, you move your wrist as you pull down the razor on your face, meaning that the curvy smooth head will also make them loose the shaving angle without noticing, leading to a bad shave,

Grip : the grip is good, its not as pronaunced as some of the parkers or merkurs, but you have a grip on it,

Ease of blade replacement : its mostly plastic, and when you open it to replace the blade (twist at bottom) the head comes out, and you notice that the build quality of the upper part is basicly an injected plastic part, and as the shaver ages, the top will get harder and harder to get a proper hard grip, and the plastic will wear out, its not made to last, and since the screw is on the top part, you have to put the blade on the top part and mount the razor upside down (handle up) for the blade to remain in position while reasembling the shaver,

Aggressiveness : this razor is dangerus, for the simple fact that the excess weight in the handle and the lack of weight in the head requires you use force to shave, mix that with the guard rails being part of the shavers cosmetics insted of function, makes this a really aggressive razor to shave with, especialy dengerus to beginners who make the mistakes of applying force and varying angle,

balance : all the weight is in the handle, the head is basciyl weightless, they tried to compensate the lack of weight in a plastic shaver by marking the reciving part of the head screw from steel, which adds weight, but in the handle, not the head, making the ballance of this razor plain bad to horrid, and also contributing to the further degratadion of the head part of the scerw which is plastic, plastic screw in steel nut = broken plastic screw

personal opinion : i truly belive wilkinson still makes this DE shaver just to make sure that if one day you decide to put down your xtreme 3 or quattro and try to use a proper DE, the mixture of bad cartrige habits mixed with the design flaws in this DE will immidiatly get you running back to your multiblade cartrige razor, i would NOT recommend this razor to a starter becuase of the odd razor loading method, the extra smooth head which makes it hard to mantain shaving angle if you have cartrige sickness, and the lack of weight which tempts you to put some force in to it,

i shaved with it this morning out of curiosity, used a corked derby on it,

i retract compleatly from what i said, once you have the angle and a proper blade, its amazing how far 2,70 euros get you, its is a good razor, just need to learn to use it correctly

------------------------------
A man who has died with no regret is a man who is either a fool or a psychopath,

There are things you can not apologize for, the ability to carry the consequences for your actions is the mark of a true man,
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Pierce
Beard Preppie

Registered: January 2008
Posts: 84
Review Date: Thu February 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 5
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 4
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 6
Adjustability:
Balance: 8

 
Rite so how did i come up with the scores?



Price: 7euro in boots Ireland. Its plastic, cheap and cheerful 8



Quality: 5 above, its cheap and cheerful



User Friendly: 10, non adjustagble, only 2 functions replace blade and shave..



Grip: 4, I find the grip can be poor at times, espically when its wet, and you have water that makes your skin sweeky(i know this is a bad way of saying it but i have noticed it can be slippy if only gripped at the sides)



Easy of Bade Replacement: Twist, place blade on handle part, stick top part back in



Agressiveness, 6, its not aggressive, can be dangerous in the wrong hands takes some time to get a smooth shave



Balance: Overall a great starter razor, and got me into DE shaving and I am here on B&B what more can i say?



I like this razor and wont say anything bad against it. Was my first razor and took time to get used to. I found the boots blades are quite good in it compared to wilkonson sword blades, which seem tacky?



Its cheep and cheerful and if you want to see if DE is for you before going the full monty its worth a try. For €10 you will walk out with a razor and some blades and moisturizer/aftershave balm add the men-u brush and cream starter kit and your set to explore DE+wetshaves.



Pierce
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
JohnP
RADdicted

Registered: August 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1388
Review Date: Thu February 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 6
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability:
Balance: 8

 
This is my GO-TO travel razor, and I have plenty to choose from.

It is also cheap and replaceable. "Expendable".

I do have other razors that are more solid or perhaps prettier, some that are even more aggressive.

This is a plastic razor, that works, for cheap. Nothing more, nothing less.

The blades are easy to replace, with whatever you feel like feeding it, and while it is lighter, mine shaves very similarly to some of my old Gillettes, which is to say, ridiculously well for what this thing is.

Heavy duty (for plastic-I've had mine almost 2 years with far less than ideal treatment, and it is still in excellent shape, unlike other plastic razors I've tried)

Grips easily with wet soapy hands thanks to the shape of the handle

Holds its blade securely and evenly (this is important!)

Never rusts, doesn't demand "collector" prices like some other razors out there.

I would heartily recommend this to anyone as a travel razor...

John P.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Dave12345
I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: December 2007
Location: London , UK
Posts: 136
Review Date: Mon February 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
User Friendly: 10
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 2
Adjustability:
Balance: 7

 
Hi guys,well I finally found it............ the only razor that really worked for me.

I was just about to throw the towel in. I tried for five months to get an irritation free shave and just couldnt do it.I bought a 38C,11c and a SuperSpeed 1945, all great pieces of kit,but all gave me irritation.



I saw these razors 5 months ago and because they were so cheap thought they would be very poor,so stayed well away. Well, I bought one and tried it with Tabac original soap and an Edwin Jagger brush. WOW..... what a great shave,I just love it, and there is no irritation to the top lip,I just coudnt get that with the other three razors. Yes,I do multiple passes compared to the others but this baby just keeps producing results after results.



I have now used it every day for three weeks and I will not change it for anything else. I just cant believe something so cheap does such a good job.



Go out and buy one,they are cheap so no worries if it doesnt work out,and they are great for travelling because there is no drama if you lose it.



I use Derby blades and they work great,as do the Wilkinson Sword blades that come with it. Soften the bristles well and off you go.



All the best.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
  Page:  1 · 2 · 3


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.