StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 67,622
Products 3,247
Reviews 20,855
Views 7,080,094

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« August 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Random Products -
[Razor Blades (Reviews)]


default.jpg
Permasharp Super

[ Razor Blades (Reviews) ]


thumb_WQG-003-2T.jpg
Treet Platinum Supe

[ Razor Blades (Reviews) ]


thumb_SantalShavingCream12.jpg
Gillette Platinum

[ Razor Blades (Reviews) ]

· more ·
 



thumb_Vector.jpg














  • Pin It

Poster Info

With the Grain Wannabe
Posts: 902
Registered: September 2008

 

Bolzano Superinox Inossidabile

Reviews Views Date of last review
29 5785 Thu February 13, 2014

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
97% of reviewers $1.76 6.7

 

Description:
Received this Italian blade as a sampler.

Loaded on to a slant. Used Em's pre shave oil and super lathered with L'Occitane and Musgo.

The cutting sound is similar to the Feather. Very smooth and efficient shave. IMO a slight notch below the Gillette yellows but again maybe just as good.

The famous Italian "Lama Bolzano" has been Italy's best selling razor blade for almost a century. This latest variant of the Bolzano blade uses a very advanced Titanium plating process for superb smoothness and durability. 5-pack.

A great overall blade that deserves consideration as an everyday blade.
Keywords: Bolzano Superinox Inossidabile
<<
thumb_14614_5df46ef3b17c6481819301a7523bcb23.jpg thumb_Big_Ben_blades.gif

 

Author
rbaloha
With the Grain WannabeRegistered: September 2008Posts: 902
Review Date: Tue January 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
Sharpness: 10
Longevity: 10
Smoothness of Shave: 10
Packaging: 10
Received this Italian blade as a sampler.

Loaded on to a slant. Used Em's pre shave oil and super lathered with L'Occitane and Musgo.

The cutting sound is similar to the Feather. Very smooth and efficient shave. IMO a slight notch below the Gillette yellows but again maybe just as good.

The famous Italian "Lama Bolzano" has been Italy's best selling razor blade for almost a century. This latest variant of the Bolzano blade uses a very advanced Titanium plating process for superb smoothness and durability. 5-pack.

A great overall blade that deserves consideration as an everyday blade.
This user is offline
patroclo7
Proraso PirateRegistered: January 2009Location: Padova, ItalyPosts: 73
Review Date: Tue January 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 6
Quality: 8
Sharpness: 10
Longevity: 8
Smoothness of Shave: 5
Packaging: 10
These blades are hard to find (also in Italy), but are quite worth the hassle. I agree with others that they are VERY sharp, but I have been unable to have a smooth shave with them.

I got a very close shave, but also lots of small nicks.


I like the packaging a lot: nice looking, old-fashioned dispenser, with any blade in its paper inside a micro-envelope. You can easily reuse the external envelope to bring the used blade around.


In Italy they cost 1,10 for 5 and 19 for 100.


While they are distributed from Italy and everything in the packages is written in Italian, some people on the web say that they are nowadays manufactured in Germany. Nothing explicitly declares the origin in the package I got.
This user is offline
Oel
Surreptitious Brush SnifferRegistered: May 2008Posts: 337
Review Date: Wed January 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Could someone please post a pic of the blade? There are Superinox-blades available widely in Germany, but in a different package and I wonder if they are the same.
This user is offline
Seamaster
Wing Man for StanRegistered: September 2008Location: GBPosts: 157
Review Date: Sun January 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Quote Originally Posted by Oel View Post
Could someone please post a pic of the blade? There are Superinox-blades available widely in Germany, but in a different package and I wonder if they are the same.



http://i41.tinypic.com/2vb22k6.jpg


I had my first shave with one today, and I can report that these are very decent blades. My control test of a new blade is using one in my HD for a two-pass shave, and the Bolzano performed admirably, delivering a close shave with no nicks, irritation or burn. Too early to make any judgement of longevity, of course, but even if they don't go the distance I would consider these a very good value choice. I'll be interested to read what Squire makes of them.
This user is offline
Oel
Surreptitious Brush SnifferRegistered: May 2008Posts: 337
Review Date: Thu January 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Thank you for the pic. As I said, there are Superinox-blades widely available in Germany, but they look different. I wasn't happy with the shave of these "Superinox platino" (so is the printing on them), but I think they are completely different blades compared to the Superinox Bolzano blades seen above.
This user is offline
patroclo7
Proraso PirateRegistered: January 2009Location: Padova, ItalyPosts: 73
Review Date: Fri January 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 6
Quality: 8
Sharpness: 10
Longevity: 8
Smoothness of Shave: 5
Packaging: 10
Yes, they can not be the same also because the Bolzano blades are not covered in platinum (platino) but in titanium.
This user is offline
jrcrow79
I found a dead BadgerRegistered: October 2008Posts: 548
Review Date: Wed February 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
funny you used em..just used this AM..tried em as an early shave..1 day ahead of shaving schedule as a test after a shower run...great shave!..where can I get em in bulk?..I wanna get Astro's as well..same as gillette swedes but half the price! ;-)..PM plz.
This user is offline
whitecrane7
Lather LearnerRegistered: February 2009Location: North CarolinaPosts: 59
Review Date: Sun July 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Always interesting to me to see how much variation there is among users for similar products.


This is a good blade and I can see why it is so popular in Italy. I did get a good shave with this product but did not get the remarkable smoothness that I get with blades like the Israeli Personnas or even some of the Trigs.


Agree that they are sharper than many, but for me these were just good, not great. Did however get long life from these.
This user is offline
Satch
Beard PreppieRegistered: April 2008Location: South CarolinaPosts: 80
Review Date: Sun July 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 6
Quality: 9
Sharpness: 9
Longevity: 8
Smoothness of Shave: 10
Packaging: 10
I am on my third full shave with one today. I suspect I will get 4 three pass shaves.


Expensive but I have no weepers or cuts like I experience with Feathers. Another comparible blade is the Japanese blade Kai.


I will be traveling to Italy this fall and hope to stock up if the price makes sense.


Great blade overall. I got mine at Shoebox Shaving.


Satch
This user is offline
scottish steve
Badger BuddhaRegistered: May 2008Location: Currently working in Suzhou, China. Born in Glasgow, ScotlandPosts: 3253
Review Date: Fri July 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 1
Quality: 9
Sharpness: 7
Longevity: -1
Smoothness of Shave: 10
Packaging: 7
I've only used these blades twice so far, but have just ordered another 30 and hope I don't fall out of love with them as quickly. These blades are medium-sharp; certainly not as sharp as Feathers, Yellow 7s or Derbys, but they are sharp enough for it not to be an issue and are definitely sharper than No-Name Israelis, Bics or White Wilkies. Thing is though, they have a texture and smoothness beyond the other 9 brands I've tried and my skin feels actively great after shaving when I use these. It just zings with health and wonderfulness (in a way which is unfortunately not duplicated in the mirror). No idea why, but I like it and will update after a few more weeks' use if anything changes.

One thing that cannot be ignored is the huge expense of these blades- 4 times the price of Derbys! I rationalised this by telling myself its only 50p per week, but from a purely value for money p.o.v., these are definitely an indulgence.
----------------------------
The difference between fact and opinion is still largely a matter of debate.
This user is offline
Review Date: Sat October 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Is there a board member source for these or a USA based vendor? The GBP/$ exchange rate is so brutal at the moment.


Cheers

scott
This user is offline
Dandaman
Surreptitious Brush SnifferRegistered: December 2008Location: IndianaPosts: 309
Review Date: Sun October 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Quote Originally Posted by siouxsie View Post
Is there a board member source for these or a USA based vendor? The GBP/$ exchange rate is so brutal at the moment.


Cheers

scott



yup. here: http://shoeboxshaveshop.com/bolzano-...-titanium.html
----------------------------
Dan
This user is offline
Review Date: Sun October 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Hilarious. That would be $90 for 100. Sells only 5 or ten packs, no quantity discounts. That's helpful.
This user is offline
Topgumby
Generic God-awfull hideously appalling custom titleRegistered: December 2008Location: Near SeattlePosts: 8284
Review Date: Tue October 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
Too bad. Seems like a good blade, but at the price point....
----------------------------
"He must be a king. He hasn't got Williams all over 'im!" - cb91710
I spend my knights at the Veg Table.
This user is offline
revtriplep
Wet Shave RecruitRegistered: December 2009Posts: 5
Review Date: Sun March 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Sharpness:
Longevity:
Smoothness of Shave:
Packaging:
You can get these blades at bullgooseshaving.com for a reasonable price.
This user is offline
Page:  1 · 2


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.