SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 48,742
Products 3,103
Reviews 20,239
Views 5,162,316

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« April 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Random Products -
[Fragrance (Reviews)]


thumb_LEA.jpg
Dragon's Blood - by


psgt.jpg
Saint Charles Shave


thumb_DSCN1174.JPG
Arden Sandalwood


thumb_vetiver.jpg
Creed Epicea


thumb_8451203336030032.image.jpg
Kanon- Norwegian Wo


thumb_Givenchy_Vetyver.jpg
MPG Santal Noble

· more ·
 



thumb_adp1.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

Razor Rajah
Posts: 2,055
Registered: March 2008

 

Castle Forbes Keig
Reviews Views Date of last review
3 517 Sun March 13, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated None indicated

 

Description:
Since I am a rabid fan of Castle Forbes shave creams, I just KNEW I'd love their cologne. In particular I knew I'd love Keig. It is supposed to have a citrusy scent. And I loooooove citrus. So, CF+Citrus=Heaven, right?



I got a sample of this stuff from Vintage Blades (along with some Floris Limes as part of a regular order - Vintage Blades is fantastic). It came in a small glass bottle, so I cannot comment on the bottle or atomizer since, umm, I didn't get one! But the important stuff is the juice, and I was disappointed.



I applied it after shaving this morning and hey, that smells great. Not entirely sure what I am smelling since I am no connoisseur, but a sweet, somewhat citrus scent with some spice kick to it. Just perfect. I applied what seemed to be a fair amount. The only way to apply it from the bottle is to get a drop on your fingertip and dab. So I did that several times. This seems to be more than enough (sometimes too much) with TOBS Victorian Limes, so it seemed to me that it shoudl be OK here.



However, and hour later it's gone. Totally gone. Even the often slammed for short longevity Floris Limes lasts on me, nearly all day. But this stuff? Poof. Gone.



I am glad I didn't spring for a bottle.
Keywords: Castle Forbes Keig

<<
thumb_Eau_Duelle.jpg thumb_Lys.jpg

 

Author
MikeLip
Razor Rajah

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 2055
Review Date: Tue January 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 3
Quality: 5
Packaging: -1
Scent: 10
Complexity: 7
Staying Power: 2
Quality of Atomizer: -1

 
Since I am a rabid fan of Castle Forbes shave creams, I just KNEW I'd love their cologne. In particular I knew I'd love Keig. It is supposed to have a citrusy scent. And I loooooove citrus. So, CF+Citrus=Heaven, right?



I got a sample of this stuff from Vintage Blades (along with some Floris Limes as part of a regular order - Vintage Blades is fantastic). It came in a small glass bottle, so I cannot comment on the bottle or atomizer since, umm, I didn't get one! But the important stuff is the juice, and I was disappointed.



I applied it after shaving this morning and hey, that smells great. Not entirely sure what I am smelling since I am no connoisseur, but a sweet, somewhat citrus scent with some spice kick to it. Just perfect. I applied what seemed to be a fair amount. The only way to apply it from the bottle is to get a drop on your fingertip and dab. So I did that several times. This seems to be more than enough (sometimes too much) with TOBS Victorian Limes, so it seemed to me that it shoudl be OK here.



However, and hour later it's gone. Totally gone. Even the often slammed for short longevity Floris Limes lasts on me, nearly all day. But this stuff? Poof. Gone.



I am glad I didn't spring for a bottle.

------------------------------
"Would you mind not shooting at the thermonuclear weapons? "
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BigRich

Master of My Shave Domain

Registered: September 2007
Location: Marietta, Georgia
Posts: 3093
Review Date: Wed January 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 3
Quality: 8
Packaging: 9
Scent: 8
Complexity: 7
Staying Power: 7
Quality of Atomizer: -1

 
I enjoyed to the scent. I thought it was a more creative take on citrus. I also didn't have nearly the issues Mike did with the staying power. Maybe the sample came from an old bottle that had started to breakdown? Who knows? My Keig was good from 7AM till I got home after work. It wasn't reeking off of me or anything but I like my colognes a little more subtle anyway.

------------------------------
Richard
Are you a Whisk(e)y Apostle?
My HOF & Wiki entries
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
buckeye_pi
This is Manly, But that's not!

Registered: April 2010
Location: NEW YORK CITY AREA
Posts: 174
Review Date: Sun March 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Packaging:
Scent:
Complexity:
Staying Power:
Quality of Atomizer:

 
The lasting power on me is at least 10-12 hrs for this (as well as Gentlemans).

One of my favorites and when you look at the price compared to Creed or any other high end colognes this IMO is a bargain.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.