StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 64,857
Products 3,227
Reviews 20,770
Views 6,701,790

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« April 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Random Products -
[Fragrance (Reviews)]


2KMF_Cool_Mint_Lg.jpg
Scs 2-11 Edt

[ Fragrance (Reviews) ]


thumb_Green_Valley.jpg
Creed Chevrefeuille

[ Fragrance (Reviews) ]


thswtub_b.jpg
Guerlain Vetiver

[ Fragrance (Reviews) ]

· more ·
 



thumb_adp1.jpg














  • Pin It

Poster Info

Razor Rajah
Posts: 2,053
Registered: March 2008

 

Castle Forbes Keig

Reviews Views Date of last review
3 693 Sun March 13, 2011

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated None indicated

 

Description:
Since I am a rabid fan of Castle Forbes shave creams, I just KNEW I'd love their cologne. In particular I knew I'd love Keig. It is supposed to have a citrusy scent. And I loooooove citrus. So, CF+Citrus=Heaven, right?



I got a sample of this stuff from Vintage Blades (along with some Floris Limes as part of a regular order - Vintage Blades is fantastic). It came in a small glass bottle, so I cannot comment on the bottle or atomizer since, umm, I didn't get one! But the important stuff is the juice, and I was disappointed.



I applied it after shaving this morning and hey, that smells great. Not entirely sure what I am smelling since I am no connoisseur, but a sweet, somewhat citrus scent with some spice kick to it. Just perfect. I applied what seemed to be a fair amount. The only way to apply it from the bottle is to get a drop on your fingertip and dab. So I did that several times. This seems to be more than enough (sometimes too much) with TOBS Victorian Limes, so it seemed to me that it shoudl be OK here.



However, and hour later it's gone. Totally gone. Even the often slammed for short longevity Floris Limes lasts on me, nearly all day. But this stuff? Poof. Gone.



I am glad I didn't spring for a bottle.
Keywords: Castle Forbes Keig
<<
thumb_apres.jpg thumb_Habit.jpg

 

Author
MikeLip
Razor RajahRegistered: March 2008Posts: 2053
Review Date: Tue January 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 3
Quality: 5
Packaging: -1
Scent: 10
Complexity: 7
Staying Power: 2
Quality of Atomizer: -1
Since I am a rabid fan of Castle Forbes shave creams, I just KNEW I'd love their cologne. In particular I knew I'd love Keig. It is supposed to have a citrusy scent. And I loooooove citrus. So, CF+Citrus=Heaven, right?


I got a sample of this stuff from Vintage Blades (along with some Floris Limes as part of a regular order - Vintage Blades is fantastic). It came in a small glass bottle, so I cannot comment on the bottle or atomizer since, umm, I didn't get one! But the important stuff is the juice, and I was disappointed.


I applied it after shaving this morning and hey, that smells great. Not entirely sure what I am smelling since I am no connoisseur, but a sweet, somewhat citrus scent with some spice kick to it. Just perfect. I applied what seemed to be a fair amount. The only way to apply it from the bottle is to get a drop on your fingertip and dab. So I did that several times. This seems to be more than enough (sometimes too much) with TOBS Victorian Limes, so it seemed to me that it shoudl be OK here.


However, and hour later it's gone. Totally gone. Even the often slammed for short longevity Floris Limes lasts on me, nearly all day. But this stuff? Poof. Gone.


I am glad I didn't spring for a bottle.
----------------------------
"Would you mind not shooting at the thermonuclear weapons? "
This user is offline
BigRich
Master of My Shave DomainRegistered: September 2007Location: Marietta, GeorgiaPosts: 3085
Review Date: Wed January 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 3
Quality: 8
Packaging: 9
Scent: 8
Complexity: 7
Staying Power: 7
Quality of Atomizer: -1
I enjoyed to the scent. I thought it was a more creative take on citrus. I also didn't have nearly the issues Mike did with the staying power. Maybe the sample came from an old bottle that had started to breakdown? Who knows? My Keig was good from 7AM till I got home after work. It wasn't reeking off of me or anything but I like my colognes a little more subtle anyway.
----------------------------
Richard
Are you a Whisk(e)y Apostle?
My HOF & Wiki entries
This user is offline
buckeye_pi
Is reformulated better?Registered: April 2010Location: NEW YORK CITY AREAPosts: 181
Review Date: Sun March 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Packaging:
Scent:
Complexity:
Staying Power:
Quality of Atomizer:
The lasting power on me is at least 10-12 hrs for this (as well as Gentlemans).

One of my favorites and when you look at the price compared to Creed or any other high end colognes this IMO is a bargain.
This user is offline


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.