SearchCollapse this Category

StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 48,730
Products 3,103
Reviews 20,237
Views 5,160,553

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« April 2014
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Random Products -
[Safety Razors (Reviews)]


C&E.jpg
Lord Premium Safety


vision.jpg
Merkur Progress


DSCN9506.jpg
Above the Tie Titan


thumb_Single10yrs-with-box.jpg
Gillette 195


thumb_01_06.jpg
Merkur 1904 Straigh


Parker_94R.jpg
Parker 94R

· more ·
 



thumb_heno-pravia-bar-soap-sm.jpg









  • Pin It

Poster Info

In M3 Remission
Posts: 20
Registered: March 2008

 

Boots (UK) Razor Double Edge Razor
Reviews Views Date of last review
10 2258 Tue August 2, 2011
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.0

 

Description:
At just £3.69, it would be churlish to criticise anything about this razor: so long as it cuts the beard, itís got to be good value!



As it happens, itís a damn site better than could reasonably be expected. Yes, the handle is plastic; certainly the head feels tinny; and sure, the fact that the (unsharpened) sides of the blade extend quite a way beyond the head make it a bit of a nuisance when changing the blade. But the fact is that it provides a very decent shave. With four passes (around the same number as I use with my Muhle) I got a very, very smooth shave ... and that was using the (unbranded) blades which came in the blister packet.



Great if you happen to need to buy an emergency razor; well worth trying even if you don't!
Keywords: Boots (UK) Razor Double Edge

<<
thumb_12852947930IMG_6906.jpg thumb_Scheermesje.JPG

 

Author
Hairy Dave

In M3 Remission

Registered: March 2008
Posts: 20
Review Date: Mon November 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 3
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 3

 
At just £3.69, it would be churlish to criticise anything about this razor: so long as it cuts the beard, itís got to be good value!



As it happens, itís a damn site better than could reasonably be expected. Yes, the handle is plastic; certainly the head feels tinny; and sure, the fact that the (unsharpened) sides of the blade extend quite a way beyond the head make it a bit of a nuisance when changing the blade. But the fact is that it provides a very decent shave. With four passes (around the same number as I use with my Muhle) I got a very, very smooth shave ... and that was using the (unbranded) blades which came in the blister packet.



Great if you happen to need to buy an emergency razor; well worth trying even if you don't!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
BoldSpice

Beard Preppie

Registered: December 2006
Posts: 82
Review Date: Mon November 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
It's light and made very cheaply, but everything is in perfect alignment. It's as if someone tried to make a cheap and cheerful version of a gillette tech. I prefer the plastic wilkinson sword razor - it's a similar price, but has a better design and feels more substantial. Both shave really well, though.



I need to dig mine out and use it again, for a week or two, before I can give it a fair rating.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
trewornan

The Merkurian Candidate

Registered: November 2007
Location: Truro, UK
Posts: 624
Review Date: Tue November 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 5
User Friendly: 9
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: 0
Balance: 6

 
This is the razor that got me back into DEs. One day I forgot to pack my wash kit and simply went to the nearest chemists (Boots) and bought the cheapest razor I could find. I was lucky to hit upon a razor that works this well and is incredibly cheap.



Price: It was a couple of years ago but I remember it was less than £5 - next to nothing.



Quality: It''s pretty much a piece of crap. Cheap plastic handle that, on mine, isn't even attached completely straight, cheap tinny head which is very poorly finished and still has sharp straggly bits from the poor moulding that they didn't bother to grind off. OK so . . . incredibly cheap and looks and feels like it, but that's not the whole story, as a tool it's great quality, does exactly what it's supposed to and does it well,, quite a surprise that you can get a really good shave out of such a piece of ****

.

User Friendly: No problems with usability, it's simple and functional, you can't go wrong.



Grip: Doesn't have any knurling but the plastic isn't particularly slippery so the grip is fair.



Ease of Blade Replacement: Three piece razor so not as simple as some but it's never been a problem to me.



Aggressiveness: Pretty average.



Adjustability: You get to choose which blade you put in it.



Balance: Another surprise, good balance considering the plastic handle, probably because the head is so cheap and tinny.



All in all, exceptional value for money, if you don't care what your razor looks or feels like but just how it shaves you'd have a real job doing better than this.

------------------------------
I may be wrong - it's never happened before but it's possible.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Boyextraordinare

I found a dead Badger

Registered: December 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 503
Review Date: Mon January 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
This is not unlike the Gillette 7-Oh I talk about but it's worse-made.



It's too top heavy and it's head is thicker than that on the other razor.

------------------------------
Kaveh

"Take it off, take it all off." - Noxzema
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
in the know

The Merkurian Candidate

Registered: August 2008
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 638
Review Date: Tue March 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
User Friendly:
Grip:
Ease of Blade Replacement:
Aggressiveness:
Adjustability:
Balance:

 
Shaved with one for the first time today.

At £3 and a bit, it is a real bargain and gives a very nice shave.

I am very happy with this razor and would happily suggest it to any newbies who want a inexpensive (not cheap) way in to DE shaving.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
duotone

Merkurious

Registered: November 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1449
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 9
Aggressiveness: 7
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 7

 
Called into Boot's fed up with the price of Mach3 blades and saw this and thought if its good enough for my Grandad its good enough for me.



A cheap but decent razor. It does a good job and I can't warrant spending £25 on a Merkur when this works perfectly.



Changing blades is a breeze, and the screw thread ensures a tight secure fit with points to align the blade parallel to the edges. Basically when tightened the blade is going nowhere, until you purposefully unscrew it for a blade change.



A better and heavier handle would improve it, but at this price it would be unfair to complain & criticise.



All in all, a very capable cheap razor. A real bargain! If mine broke I would replace it with the same model, especially at that price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Unknownsoldier

I only have small ones

Registered: August 2008
Location: Canterbury
Posts: 1252
Review Date: Mon June 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 5
User Friendly: 8
Grip: 8
Ease of Blade Replacement: 3
Aggressiveness: 5
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 4

 
Very good for the price, Great shave, even with the no-name blades. I keep mine to use on days when I just want a quick shave, or if I have an area with a spot to go over gently :-)



Tom

------------------------------
My Aunty Hilda was like a sea mine.... she was in the war and she gave sailors a few shocks!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
taffy

Peer of the Tallow

Registered: August 2009
Location: Llantwit Fardre, Wales.
Posts: 2487
Review Date: Tue August 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 6
User Friendly: 6
Grip: 6
Ease of Blade Replacement: 8
Aggressiveness: 3
Adjustability: 0
Balance: 5

 
For the price well worth as a standby or to start off with and easily available in the uk.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
grouse79
The Merkurian Candidate

Registered: May 2008
Location: Fife, Scotland
Posts: 629
Review Date: Fri May 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros):
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 6
User Friendly: 6
Grip: 7
Ease of Blade Replacement: 7
Aggressiveness: 8
Adjustability: -1
Balance: 5

 
I bought this a few weeks ago purely out of interest. I already have the black Wilkinson. Although a few pence cheaper, I think I prefer how this is made because it has a metal head, virtually identical to the Techs I have. I shaved with this a few times, most recently this evening and it gives good results. However it is more aggressive than a Tech so using my usual blade (Feather) I got a nick or two whereas with the Tech I can shave without paying too much attention and I don't get cut. Just requires a little more care in the difficult areas like the adam's apple.



This would make an excellent travel razor as there are no tears if it's lost. Plus you could probably find a replacement easily enough.

------------------------------
Razors: English Gillette Tech
Blades: Derbys
Cream: TOBS Shaving Shop, Proraso
Soap: TOBS Sandalwood, Wilkinson Sword
Brush: Tweezerman
AS - "Noir", Old Spice

"Bruce Willis's ability to maintain a wry smile whilst being blown backwards through a plate glass window is an inspiration to men whose daily challenge consists of nothing more than sitting in front of a computer screen contemplating the message: "There has been an error. Do you wish to report it?". "

Clive James
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
emmetgilgunn

I'm gonna tell you something tomorrow

Registered: March 2011
Posts: 131
Review Date: Tue August 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Positive aspects of the product (pros): cheap and available
Cons: cheap lookin plastic handle
Price: 10
Quality: 7
User Friendly: 7
Grip: 10
Ease of Blade Replacement: 10
Aggressiveness: 1
Adjustability: 1
Balance: 1

 
my first de razor so i have nothing to compare it to however as a straight shaver is know a good shave and this gives it. cheap and cheerfull is the words i would use to describe it. good shave and now has a place in my shavebox with my straights and shavettes.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2012 All Enthusiast, Inc.

By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.