StatisticsCollapse this Category

Users 65,493
Products 3,229
Reviews 20,789
Views 6,795,990

SearchCollapse this Category

Posting CalendarCollapse this Category

« May 2015
SunMon TueWed ThuFri Sat
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Random Products -
[Other Shaving Related Goods (Reviews)]


thumb_3.jpg


thumb_clayPomade.jpg


moroccan_neroli_shaving_serum_60ml-new_pkg_1_1.png

· more ·
ontheroadagain, jameschoonglw, srhardy, m a g and 109 unregistered users
 



thumb_sct1.jpg














  • Pin It

Poster Info

The Merkurian Candidate
Posts: 691
Registered: December 2007
Location: 'Las Vegas - NV' Home of UFC

 

Georgetown Scuttle

Reviews Views Date of last review
22 2018 Wed March 9, 2011

 

Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated None indicated

 

Description:
There are several scuttles on the market. This one is made in the US and I'm proud when I can buy or advise anything that's made in the USA. True, German products are considered top notch, Shavemac, Tabac, Speick, Ansgar included! :-) but if I can keep my money in the country where I reside I do so if possible. Georgetown pottery is one of those companies. They are located on the east coast in Maine and are very friendly and professional. It took me 8 weeks to receive my scuttle but it was definitely worth the wait. They are working on a mold which would bring ordering and delivery much faster to normal standards. The scuttle is available in different patterns/colors: Blue Oribe & Purple, Cobalt & Purple, Green Oribe & Purple, Hamada & Blue, Hamada & Persimmon, Hamada & Purple,... All are exquisite imo. I chose for Blue Oribe & Purple since it was closer to the coloring I loved and what would fit in my bathroom. The packaging was very secure and well wrapped when I did receive my UPS delivery.

The scuttle isn't a lightweight either and feels pretty solid. The finishing and glaze is top notch. It's all hand made so small imperfections might arise but that's the charm of anything custom hand made. The scuttle does exactly what it's designed to do. Keep your lather warm. Adding hot water is a breeze and now with the added lip it's very easy to dispose of the remaining water after you're done. The scuttle is also just wide enough to whip up any meringue like lather and even rest your brush during passes.

If you like to complete your shaving experience I would recommend you to get a scuttle. It's definitely not going to break the bank and it's very affordable. It's very difficult to predict the durability of the scuttle but as long as you don't drop it on the floor I think you're safe for a long life of your Georgetown scuttle.



http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/image.../Scuttle02.jpg



http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/image.../Scuttle03.jpg



http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/image.../Scuttle04.jpg



http://wiki.badgerandblade.com/image.../Scuttle05.jpg
Keywords: Georgetown Scuttle
<<
thumb_IMG_0354.jpg thumb_clayPomade.jpg

 

Author
revtriplep
Wet Shave RecruitRegistered: December 2009Posts: 5
Review Date: Fri December 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 8
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: 10
Just got mine in the mail today and tried it out. Where has this thing been in all my shaving life? Really nice and classy product. The folks at Georgetown were really nice to deal with. Great product to go with your shaving gear, go get one.
This user is offline
ALL HANDS WORKING
I'm in the Hall of Fame!Registered: October 2009Location: New YorkPosts: 226
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 9
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 9
Durability: -1
Packaging: -1
Received mine about a week ago (12-15-09). It has vastly improved my morning shave. The lathering is quite easy, as the bowl is scored on the inside to help dissolve even the hardest of creams. My brush remains warm enough (for me) through 3 passes. The people at Georgetown Pottery are extremely nice to deal with, and I find the price quite reasonable. I had to wait a little over 2 weeks.
This user is offline
ambrose
Spyderco ManRegistered: December 2008Location: South TexasPosts: 4248
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Performance:
Usefulness:
Durability:
Packaging:
I love my custom brush scuttles they made for me, I too own the tea cups but I happen to drink out of mine
This user is offline
Smiley
In M3 RemissionRegistered: January 2010Location: Near ChicagoPosts: 16
Review Date: Tue March 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price:
Quality:
Performance:
Usefulness:
Durability:
Packaging:
Looks like GeorgeTown is listening, now they are making a G5

"Increased the water reservoir by doubling the previous G4 water capacity, keeping your new G5 scuttle at the perfect temperature for extended periods of shaving."

http://www.georgetownpottery.com/geo...aving-scuttle-

http://www.georgetownpottery.com/sto...01/SHV0001.jpg

http://www.georgetownpottery.com/ima...5scuttle-2.jpg

http://www.georgetownpottery.com/ima...5scuttle-3.jpg
This user is offline
ControlFreak1
Wet Shave RecruitRegistered: February 2010Location: In your attic, ....Posts: 7
Review Date: Sat March 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: 10
I too have the G5 scuttle in blue and hamada, it is outstanding craftsmanship and design, the newly designed round hole with rubber cork is excellent and helps keep it warmer much longer.
Great work Georgetown Pottery.
This user is offline
California Cajun
Californian by birth, Cajun by degreeRegistered: March 2010Location: Lafayette, LAPosts: 3522
Review Date: Tue July 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 10
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: 10
I'll add my critique before it gets buried in the General Shaving Discussion thread. It rates a perfect score from me because it does everything it is supposed to do.


Georgetown Pottery G5 scuttle

I both used and tested the Becker (Robert's Ceramic Feats of Clay) Small scuttle; Georgetown Pottery G5 scuttle; Moss Large scuttle; Schwarzweisskeramik Small scuttle; Dirty Bird 1.5 scuttle.


They all work well, and the final decision should be a matter of personal taste. I heated 3 cups of water in my microwave oven for 4 minutes for a temperature of 165 degrees F. The water is then poured into the scuttle to test heat retention.


http://webmail.lusfiber.net/%7Ecalif...6rioqs3/G5.JPG

http://webmail.lusfiber.net/%7Ecalif...%20stopper.JPG

http://webmail.lusfiber.net/%7Ecalif...20interior.JPG


Fast Facts:


* Purchase Price: $45.00

* Purchased from: Georgetown Pottery

* Special features: distinctive multi-color design, stopper

* Reservoir capacity: 6 1/2 ounces

* Primary strength: stopper (allows you to fill and soak the brush in the lathering area without changing reservoir water)

* Primary weakness: heat retention in comparison to others (but then, how long does it take to shave?)





Heat retention (165-degree water initially introduced into scuttle):


* After 5 minutes: 130 degrees F

* After 10 minutes: 120 degrees F

* After 15 minutes: 120 degrees F

* After 20 minutes: 117 degrees F

* After 25 minutes: 115 degrees F





Dimensions of scuttle:


* Height: 3"

* Base width: 3"

* Width on top: 5 3/16" (5 3/4 with spout)

* Inside diameter of lathering area: 3 1/4"

* Depth of lathering area: 2 3/8"

* Texture of lathering surface: cross hatched
----------------------------
John C.O.L.D., Club CELLA
This user is offline
Sparafucile
Surreptitious Brush SnifferRegistered: April 2010Location: NYC 'BurbsPosts: 341
Review Date: Wed March 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated Rating: 0 
Pros:
Cons:
Price: 7
Quality: 10
Performance: 10
Usefulness: 10
Durability: 10
Packaging: 10
I received my G5 a few days ago, and I'm quite pleased. It's beautiful, fits the hand well, and keeps the lather nice and warm.

I borrowed a Dirty Bird from a friend to try out for a few days before I bought the G5, and they are quite different. The Georgetown is porcelain; the DB is pottery/clay. The DB is much too large and heavy for me to use in the shower, and IMO looks like a clunky college pottery project: not aesthetically pleasing to my eye (tea-pot design & not very interesting glaze) whereas the Georgetown glazes are just beautiful. To my eye, the Georgetown takes it: it's visually balanced and lovely to look at. YMMV.

As for keeping the lather warm - I found no practical difference between them: I shave both head and face (4-pass) daily, and they both had adequate bowls and kept the lather warm for the 10 or 12 minutes that I shave.

It's a keeper!
----------------------------
===== Cordially, Serge D. =====
This user is offline
Page:  1 · 2 


Powered by: Reviewpost vB4 Enhanced
Copyright 2014 All Enthusiast, Inc.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd. By accessing Badger & Blade, you agree to abide by the Terms of Usage. You can find our Privacy Policy here.
Once submitted, any posts, images, or content become the property of Badger & Blade.
Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.